Thanks and Gratitude

Gratitude

Develop an attitude of gratitude and give thanks for everything that happens to you, knowing that each step forward is a step toward to achieving something bigger.

This is the last in this little series covering Giving, Receiving and Thanks.

I read this quote recently:  “When you are grateful, fear disappears and abundance appears” Anthony Robbins

Now I’m sure that there are some people reading this who will be able to analyse and comment further on this, and I would welcome all your thoughts.  For me, I know that when I am grateful, something breaks inside me – the spirit of poverty becomes less of an issue.  What do I mean?

For me, early on in my marriage and after the birth of our first child, my husband Steve was made redundant.  Not a pleasant experience as you may well imagine.  What this meant was that we started to hold on more tightly to things, particularly money.  We had to run a tight budget to ensure that every penny was spent wisely.  And we began to live, think and breathe poverty.  It was strange how it came over us to be honest.  There were times when we were able to be grateful for what we did have: a new baby, each other, food (we never went hungry).

However, when Steve did manage to get work again, that poverty attitude remained.  It proved hard to break, but it was only when we started to turn our attention to what we actually had, rather than what we didn’t have, that the spirit of poverty broke.  We were thankful for Steve’s new job, for our growing healthy son, for love and care from friends and family, a roof over our head.

As we were more and more thankful “abundance happened”.  We saw that we actually had so much.  We had been blind. 

Abundance doesn’t necessarily come in the form of money, big cars, big homes, fancy holidays, expensive gifts.  It can come in the form of appreciation, joy, happiness, peace, purpose and meaning.

My aim for today is to be grateful, to be genuinely thankful for what I have and to thank people for what they bring into my life that blesses me.

For information and encouragement about gratitude you may find the following link beneficial. The Gratitude Page

I would really appreciate your comments on what you are grateful for, and how you have fostered an attitude of thanks and gratitude.  Share the benefits of this wonderful gift.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

