My Personal Lesson Today: The Lesson of Two books

Pile of books

Always have a leadership or personal development book on the go

Why two books? Simple really: one to read, and one to write in!

Like all good journalists, always have a pen and paper handy if you have a continually learning mindset and are looking to develop yourself.  I always believe that everybody has the potential to teach me something new every day.  To make sure I don’t miss what they are teaching me it is always handy to have a pen and notebook to jot down what it is that I am being taught.

And I always have book on the go.  I have just finished reading “What you see is what you get” by Lord Sugar and “Anyone can do it” by Duncan Bannatyne.  Both entrepreneurs detail the lessons they learned as they built up their businesses.  As I read these books, I made notes of the salient points that I believed I needed to learn for myself, or develop in me further.

However, great leaders such as John. C. Maxwell, have more than one reading book on the go at any one time.  Take a look at his bookshelf!  I think I will build up to that!

What I am trying to say is that I am learning to read more widely; reading new authors, different types of genre.  And from time to time, I read a fiction book.  Sometimes it’s good to get lost in a great novel and let the mind imagine and picture the story.  It’s about getting the right balance.

And then we could move into a discussion about whether the book should be on e-reader or the printed version…….

I’d love to know what good books you have read recently.  I am always looking to add to my “library”.  Thanks for sharing.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Personal Lesson Today: The Lesson of Two books

  1. AnnabelleB says:

    Interesting indeed, Kate! I read a lot of personal development books, and tend to intersperse these with historical biographies. I’m always amazed about how much I learn about human behaviour from the historical biogs.

    In order to get out of a rut, though, and in the interests of trying something different, I like to play ‘bookshelf roulette’ . This involves going in to my nearest charity bookshop, positioning myself in front of a shelf, closing my eyes and reaching out and grabbing something. I might not be a huge fan of everything I find in this way, but it does broaden my reading base. And as it’s a charity bookshop, I’m not spending a fortune on something I don’t enjoy… and the money’s going to a good cause. Triple whammy!

    AnnabelleB at Yara Consulting

  2. katehobbs says:

    Hi Annabelle
    Thank you for your response. Great idea about the charity books. As you say, everyone benefits. I’m going to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

