Avoiding “The MacDonald’s Culture”

Love it or hate it, MacDonald’s has changed our society*.  I’d like to state at the beginning of this post that I am not against MacDonald’s.  I confess I don’t often go into their restaurants because I like to cook my food from fresh.  What I am concerned about is the culture that MacDonald’s has created – a culture where everybody now expects instant gratification of their wants.

Take a look around you, up and down your high street, in your home……

  • Instant food/drink – less than a couple of minutes wait
  • Ever increasing internet speeds because we can’t wait for things to download
  • Instant books – via e-readers like Kindle Wireless Reader
  • Instant messaging – SMS, IM etc.
  • Instant credit (credit cards/debit cards)
  • Instant Healthcare – *see related link below.

I believe that this is creating a society with less and less patience.  How often do you get frustration if you are kept waiting?  I do.  Computer rage….. Slow broadband….. yep, I’m guilty.

However, “Patience is a virtue”, “Good things comes to those who wait”.   As a mother I can remember my children imploring me for sweets or the latest gadget or toy.  I always encouraged them to wait.  If they were able to earn money, I suggested that they save for what they wanted.  And when they eventually received that gift, they appreciated it all the more. 

I believe that if we nurture patience we will start to turn the tide against the desire for instant gratification.  One definition of patience states that it is “a quality”.  Wow.  That implies that I can acquire it if I don’t already have it.  Nurturing patience requires my attention every day.  It needs me to work on it.  So, I seek to be kind to myself during this learning process.  I daily remind myself to put aside the short-term gratification for the long-term satisfaction.

I wish you abundant patience today.

How do you practice patience?  When did you resist the short-term results for the long-term benefits? 

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

