The poor will always be with you…

Haiti.  Mention the name and it brings back memories of devastating scenes; of a country racked by natural disaster which struck over a year ago.  Today, restoration appears slow.  And the return of one “Baby Doc” has worrying undertones.  But there is much going on, which the media doesn’t always cover.

This week, I have read the tweets of Duncan Bannatyne.  Mention the man’s name and it provokes a love/hate reaction.  I do not know him and have never met him.  I have, however, read his autobiography and have respect for him.

On Sunday last week, Mr Bannatyne, via Twitter, informed his many followers that he was going on a trip aboard and asked them to pray for him.  The next thing we saw were pictures, via TwitPic, of slums, open sewers, food kitchens and broken buildings.  Where was he?  In Haiti, supporting the work of “Mary’s Meals“, a non-denominational charity providing meals to the world’s poor.

Mr Bannatyne’s tweets have provoked various responses, some not always charitable it has to be said.  However, the one thing that I have observed from reading his autobiography and watching his involvement in serving the poor, is that he appears to recognise that “From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.” The Bible (Luke 12 v 48).

The Bible, and other holy texts, say that “There are always going to be poor and needy people among you. So I command you: Always be generous, open purse and hands, give to your neighbours in trouble, your poor and hurting neighbours.”  I haven’t got enormous monetary resources, but I do have myself.  I will look to help those who are nearby.  I will let others, like Duncan Bannatyne, work in those areas that I can’t.

Read more about Duncan Bannatyne’s visit here.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

