Big, hairy, audacious goals (BHAGs)

Have a goal

Allow yourself to have a Big Hairy Audacious Goal

Big, Hairy, Audacious Goals – a term coined by authors Jerry Porras and James Collins in their book “Built to Last”.  Pronounced ‘Bee-hags’.

Many people go through life having dreams but not having goals.  There is a difference.  A dream is an idea, a thought, a desire, a wish.  A goal is an aim, something that has been decided and a plan has been put in place to meet that goal.

And a BHAG is an ultimate goal and I have only recently given myself permission to have such goals.

As a woman, I have found that society’s attitudes for women have stopped me from moving out into setting new goals for my life.  My husband, I must stress, has never confined me.  It has always been me stopping myself moving out because I didn’t think that I had permission to dream that big.

So what is my BHAG?  To spend more of my time in Canada.  So, what am I doing to get there?

  • Firstly, I made the decision to change my life and find out how I can get to Canada legally and, along with my husband, we set the move date.
  • From then on it was a case of identifying the mini-goals that needed to be achieved in order to fulfill the BHAG.

Looking forward to the next stage of my life.

So what are your BHAGS?  Do you feel that setting such goals are something that you have not given yourself permission to do?  Have you set any BHAGS and how are you doing in achieving them?

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

