It’s Friday – relax a little

man in hammock

Relax, have fun, and enjoy others.

I don’t know about you but when Friday comes around, I begin to relax a little, getting ready for the weekend.  I also find it is easier to bring laughter and fun into my workplace.

To help maintain an appropriate life – work balance, I have found that just by dressing in jeans for the day, or putting on a comfortable (and often baggy) piece of clothing, I begin to relax.  Because I am dressed in a relaxed way, I find that I behave in a relaxed way.   Don’t take my word for it; some scientist out there has written a paper on it – dress professionally and you will act professionally – apparently. (If you are that scientist, please elaborate further!)

More to the point: Have some fun today!  If it’s someone’s birthday – make a big fuss and noise about it.  If suitable, play a game at lunch and ask others to join in.  If you are in sales, cheer and clap when a sale is achieved and celebrate as a whole team.  You are creative people, be creative and allow the ideas to flow.

What are the benefits, you ask?  Why bother?  Well, the benefits are too many to mention but include increased productivity, greater moral and motivation, enhanced retention.  Those are the business benefits.  Personally, I am nicer to be around, I am able to engage better with others and understand their circumstances more easily, and I am able to love others better.

May you have a relaxed Friday, and an even more fun-filled weekend.

What ideas do you have to make your Friday more fun?

What benefits do you attribute to being more relaxed and work, or at home?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.  Kate.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

