Evaluating my past will help my future

Many’s the time that I have made a mistake.  And many’s the time that I have been told “It’s OK, you’ll learn.”  But how do we truly learn?

It’s easy for someone to say “you’ll learn” but so hard for me to do because I believe there is one thing missing:  I need to evaluate or analyse the mistake to learn from it.

There is the potential for everyone to repeat the same mistake again and again.  If we are to break the cycle, then there has to be, at some point, an analysis of why this mistake is being made repeatedly.  Good analysis  will help me:

  • see what the mistake was,
  • identify why it happened,
  • recognise signs or triggers that occur every time this mistake is made,
  • and once recognised, see when the situation threatens to arise and make sure I don’t repeat the mistake again.

Now that looks a little easier, doesn’t it?

The same analysis of our events in the past can also help us with the bigger things in life; establishing relationships and not ruining them; bringing up our children; in our work; in our communities.  Without understanding our past we cannot hope to make a better future for ourselves, and those whom we serve.

Take time, with another, to analyse more.  I’m not saying that this will guarantee you won’t make any mistakes, but hopefully, you won’t be repeating many of the old ones going forward.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

