Developing Character…… a lesson from an apple.

I’ve been thinking about apples!!!  I’m sure there are plenty of stories to be found by studying this wonderful fruit.  Many varieties look plain and uninviting.  But take a closer look.

Inside each apple is a delight just waiting to be seen.  I’m sure you all know it: it’s the apple’s “star”, it’s very centre, but you only get to see it when you have cut the apple in two across the “equator”.  The apple needs to be “destroyed” to see the beauty.

That can be like me.  To get to the very best of me, sometimes, I have to be “injured”, “cut”, “hurt”.  As painful as it is to me, and how ugly it looks initially, once I have worked through the process, something beautiful is found.

I can remember one occasion when I was gently told that something I had done had caused another person a problem.  My actions actually caused me to be removed from the leadership role that I was in at that time.  I felt incredible remorse at having caused another person great pain and issues.  I, too, felt pain, because I had to step down for a time.  I knew that I had to look intensely at myself, and understand my actions and reactions.

I will still cause pain for people.  It’s inevitable because I don’t have it all together.  I’m far from perfect.  When I do fall then I need to:

  • Understand my mistake
  • Analyse my mistake and actions
  • Recognise what parts I could have controlled and changed
  • Take responsibility
  • Change

The result of these lessons in me, if supported and coached correctly, will be:

  • stronger character
  • better understanding
  • more awareness
  • less prejudice

Ultimately, everyone benefits: the people I interact with, my productivity at work, and myself.

Surely that’s a beautiful thing to see.

What is developing character in you?

What hard lessons have you had to endure, so that your beauty shines through?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.  Kate.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Developing Character…… a lesson from an apple.

  1. Steve says:

    Thank you for sharing that!

Leave a Reply

