To develop yourself, develop deep roots.

Are you growing to be the full tree or have you allowed your roots to be clipped?

To grow strong and healthy, you need deep roots.  Don’t become an imitation of what you could be.

Here’s a lesson from a Bonsai Tree.  In reality, it has been nurtured, tended, clipped, fed and watered.  It sits in its own small pot, but it is often repotted because, to keep the tree small, it’s roots are clipped.  This is why the Bonsai Tree will remain an imitation of the glory it could have been.

Have you settled for being an imitation of what you could be?  What has happened to your dream, your vision?  What has happened to your career?  What has happened to your relationships?  Why haven’t you reached your full potential?  Maybe it’s because you have allowed your roots to be clipped.  You’ve settled for second best.  You’ve not taken opportunities to learn more, to upskill yourself, and to develop yourself personally.

I found that I listened too much to what others told me I should be, or what I was capable of.  People would refer to me as being “like your mother.”  I was introduced to others as “Jon’s sister.”  I allowed myself to be labelled.  However, that is not what/who I am.  I can choose to believe how others have labelled me, or I can choose to be me.  Sometimes it will take another person to point out to me if I am conforming to a label.  The rest is then up to me.

How have you allowed yourself to be labelled?  Or allowed your roots to be clipped?

Now that you recognise where you have been “clipped”, what are you going to do about it?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.  Kate.

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To develop yourself, develop deep roots.

  1. Pingback: Affirming the positive in me. | katehobbs

Leave a Reply

