Step into your leadership now.

In April, I will be leaving my current job to spend some “me time” in Canada.  I have worked in a business school in London as the E-Learning Manager.  Now that I am leaving, some of the people I have worked closely with are highlighting the strengths that I have brought to the school, and have asked how can they replicate this as they feel it is essential that these be maintained.  That challenged me to think about how I am going to move on without leaving a hole.

As a result, I have read a number of blogs that have challenged leaders to manage the expectations of their team members, or those with whom they have influence.

One of the difficulties, leaders do not necessarily have control over how a team member, or follower, perceives them.  Very often, leaders can be put on pedestals.   I found this recent quote from a HBR post, which I thinks explains the dangers of allowing followers to do this.

“People want to make the leader the one who sees and knows everything. I am just a human being. I can’t see everything. I can’t know everything. I make mistakes. When you make me more than human, you can bring me down while refusing to take responsibility or any risk. Step into your leadership now.”  From Harvard Business Review

In addition, the leader may not be around for ever.  Like me, he may decide to move on, or illness strikes.  Has the leader trained up others to take his place?  Has he made himself indispensable? Has the leader prepared others to function without him? Mary Jo Asmus asks this challenging question in her recent post.

I attempted to write about “moving on” in a past post “Make yourself dispensable“.  As you can see, I am still learning the lesson for myself.  My purpose for now, and from which I draw my meaning, is to encourage others to step up into their leadership now.  If I can do that, I will have been successful.

Are your team capable of functioning without you?

What haven’t you shared with your team that you should?  Why?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.  Kate.

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

