Affirming the positive in me.

Choose to break free.I’m struggling.  For the last few weeks I have struggled with negativity, both in me and around me.  Subtly, negativity seems to have wrapped it’s cloak around me so that the positive thoughts and the truth seems to have been swamped.  I recognise it now, and I know that I have to change my thought patterns to deal with it.

Yesterday, I posted a poem called “The Victor” which challenged me to consider the thoughts that I have, all of which affect how I live my life, and the outcome of my life.  Underlying the poem was the challenge that if you think you can’t do something, then the chances are you won’t do it.  It challenges a negative thought pattern.

And yet again,  in “Deep Roots” I posted about how people’s words, and attitudes, can label us.  We can live up to these labels, or we can change our thinking and free ourselves from them.  We fall into the pattern of believing what we are told about ourselves, because it’s easy!  Well, thinking otherwise involves hard work!

I am not one who believes that daily positive affirmations repeated again and again are the sole reason for success, but affirming the positive is a good thing.  To ponder, to meditate, to consider, to think on positive things bring about a healthy life balance.  For me, I need to consider things of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, self-control.

Therefore, today, I choose to shed that cloak of negativity.  I will  draw away from negative conversations.  I will seek truth and light, and I will be thankful.  I am “fearfully and wonderfully made” and I choose to live in that knowledge.

Do you use affirmations?  What have been the most powerful ones for you?

Do you use any other tools to support your thought patterns?

 

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.  Kate.

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

