You have a To-Do List but where’s your To-STOP List?

Is your time under pressure?

Busy, busy, busy.  How do you keep track of all that needs to be done?  Are you an organised person?  Are you putting into practice all the time-management lessons you have been taught?

It’s funny how time-management lessons urge you to make lists of things that need doing, of placing things in order of priority, but don’t always encourage you to make a list of things to STOP doing!

It is a good habit to take stock on a regular basis.  Every so often, I list all the commitments I have.  Together, with my husband, we review this list and then construct two new lists: one of the things I will continue to do, and another list of the things that I will stop doing.

What do I mean?  About 6 years ago, I took on an allotment.  For those reading this outside of the UK, an allotment is a piece of rented land, not very big, set aside for the purposes of growing your own food – fruit, vegetables, salads, flowers etc.  This introduced me to a new social community.  I joined the allotment group association responsible for events, developments and decisions.  I later became the secretary for the group.  This position was unpaid but that didn’t matter because I was thoroughly enjoying the community and events.  After about a year of being in this role, it was no longer as  enjoyable.  The demands on me, in addition to my normal work and family commitments, were beginning to take up too much of my time.

I knew that my role as secretary had to go on my “To-Stop” list.  I gave a full year’s notice that I would be standing down in Sept 2010.  And I was as good as my word.  I am still with the allotment community, but not in any official capacity, and I can volunteer for one-off jobs as and when I choose.  I am enjoying it again.

What do you need to put on your “To-Stop” list?

Have you given yourself permission to say “No”?  Do you know how to stop?

Tomorrow, we will be considering “Why it may be necessary to say No”.  Please join me then but, in the meantime, join in the conversation now.

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.  Kate.

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

