Leaders: Make room for Fun. It’s time to “Play”.

There is one book that I return to again and again.  “Fish” by Stephen C. Lundin, Ph.D., Harry Paul and John Christensen.  It’s simple to read, simple to assimilate, and simple to adopt.  And people, departments and companies are benefitting on a daily basis from it’s simple philosophy.

  • Choose your Attitude
  • Be There
  • Play
  • Make Their Day

When was the last time you “played” at work?  No, seriously, when did you last let your hair down in your office?  Obviously, you can’t just do that without having established a foundation:

  • trust
  • freedom to experiment
  • respect

I remember when I introduced the Fish Philosophy to my department.  I started casting vision, by drip feeding hints to the team in meetings, or on an individual basis.  After a couple of months I then introduced the video, and gave each of them the book to read.  Then, I asked for their ideas.  The freedom that the team felt they had, because I had given them permission, meant that the ideas just flowed.  Each month, someone would introduce a new “play” idea.  It was wonderful.  It made the office a happier place;  people from other departments gravitated to our office – they enjoyed the atmosphere; productivity and results increased.

So the question remains.  When was the last time you “played” at work?

 

There are many out there who have adopted the Fish Philosophy.  Please share your experiences here so that others can benefit.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

