New Starts: Be grateful for your past.

Family Group

Acknowledge your past

Today is the first day of the rest of my life!  Today is the first day of not being employed, and getting ready to start a new adventure in Canada!  WOW.  Can’t tell you how much emotion is going on.

I am excited about my future, and I am so grateful for my past.  Obviously, there are things in my past that I am not proud to own up to, but let’s consider for a minute some good things and allow these to penetrate:

  • parents/grandparents who instilled values, beliefs and priorities
  • friendships that were formed in school, university or business – some of which are still ongoing
  • travel and adventures: holidays, school trips, camping
  • cooking with mum/grand-mother
  • playing sports with dad/grand-father
  • siblings, the fun (and the naughty times)

Our past is part of us, and we can’t ignore it.  The people, the places, the events all have played a part in creating me/us.  Our character wouldn’t be what it is without it.

It is right to embrace the past.  However, it might be right to just concentrate on the good, happy and healthy moments from time to time.

Let those times bring a smile to your face; allow them to surface and remain with you; give permission for the good times to encourage you.

Acknowledging the good that you have experienced will feed you when you need strength.  It will never leave you.

How hard is it for you to seek out the good times from your past?

Take the opportunity to share a “good, positive moment” here.

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK FAN PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Starts: Be grateful for your past.

  1. Julie Couper says:

    Hi Kate, love reading your posts and feel very encouraged by them…thankyou!!! I read one the other day and since then have been thinking of all the good times in my past. One tends to think of all the bad things and dwell on those rather than on the good things so……thankyou for making me think of that, it has so helped me this week. God bless and look forward to reading many more. I hope when your in Canada they will carry on 🙂

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Julie
      Thanks for visiting my blog. I appreciate the feedback. I intend to keep going with the posts. With internet, you can be anywhere in the world and keep posting. Keep looking to Him too.

Leave a Reply

