New Starts: Set your foundations

Open gate in country

New things are ahead. Are you ready?

Are you starting something new?  New job? Getting married?   Moving home? Kids left home and are you beginning a new era of your life?  It is at these times that everything you know and believe in are called into question and scrutinised.

If you have read this blog for a little while, you will know that I am about to embark on a life-changing venture to Canada, with my husband Steve.  While planning for this move, I have found myself re-evaluating many things that I consider to be foundational to me; foundational to what makes me who I am.

I am drawn to the first months and years of a new baby.  Developmental foundations in your life, and mine, should have been provided by mother.  Baby would have drunk in love, life and it’s sense of “being” by looking into it’s mother’s eyes.

On these foundations, the child would grow.  Baby would have found it’s centre, it’s sense of being as it “fed” from it’s mum and it would have become confident, secure, certain, and positive.  Mother was able to instill all these things into the child because, in an ideal world, she would have been loved, protected and supported by her husband.

My reasons for considering a move to Canada are varied.  However, I believe that I am only able to undertake my new adventure because I:

  • am confident – thanks to my parent’s nurturing
  • am secure – thanks to my husband’s support
  • am certain – because I have a peace about the future
  • am positive – as I have pondered the good, healthy, exciting things that I will be able to achieve in Canada.

In addition to the above, there have been practical elements to consider:

  • A sense of calling – does this fall in line with my priorities, values and beliefs?
  • Wise Counsel – seeking the wisdom of others (2 or 3 only) to make a fully informed decision
  • Planning – It is essential, and flexibility needs to be factored in.
  • Finance – nothing else needs saying here.
  • Opportunity and Timing – There is only so much that you can do to make the opportunity happen but if it’s meant to be it will come about.

So what about your foundations?  Are they all in place?  Are they strong enough to build the next phase of your life on?  Are you ready to enjoy the challenge?  I am.  Hope you are too.

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK FAN PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Starts: Set your foundations

  1. Hi Kate,
    Well I’ve always been a kinda “ready-fire-aim” kind of guy all my life. However I’m learning that optimum goal achievement (which is required if you are serious about reaching your full potential) really needs to be supported by good planning. And good planning can enlighten one to see benefits and potential not originally envisioned. Good luck on your new adventures.
    Riley

    • katehobbs says:

      Thanks Riley for your comment.
      New beginnings bring new challenges. Continual reviewing and evaluation are essential throughout life because values, priorities and beliefs change. Your thought about planning is interesting, and I tend to agree with it. Sometimes, when we plan, we see more of what we are capable of. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

