Leaders – are you heading up a “movement of change”?

Adopt a climate of change wherever you lead.

Whether you or I like it or not, a leader will have to deal with change.  Change is inevitable.  Every leader will have followers, but the question I am posing today is “Are the followers following a leader who heads up a “movement of change”?

If a leader is heading up an organisation that has no focus, no strategy, no plan, vision or aim, then there will be no movement and, I would suggest, it is likely to fail.  However, if a leader is leading with focus, strategy, a plan and vision which is being continually communicated to the followers, then that organisation will be moving forward and will ultimately be a movement of change.

Such “change agents” i.e. Leaders, will recognise that, to grow, change has to happen.  They will cultivate a climate of change through:

  • continually communicating the current situation and the future vision
  • actively encourage followers to contribute to the vision, and the steps required to get there – this achieves compound results
  • cast a big picture, and encourage “big-picture thinking” – always looking outside of one’s self, or the organisation
  • seek to remove distractions (mental or otherwise) to allow concentration on the real issue
  • re-visit the past to learn from it, but never stay there.  Leaders can’t afford to become demoralised by past events as they will limit the ability to think positively and see all possibilities.
  • In addition consider others, and their journey, and the effect that the vision and change will have on them.  Leaders want maximum collaboration.

Now, that’s what I call a movement of change.

Today, I am asking myself “how do I measure up?”  I know that I will continually need to re-evaluate these areas of my life, and make conscious choices every day in order to learn, develop and grow further in this.  What about you?

Is your organisation, charity, community, association actively embracing change? 

Which of the above points will you be working on to become that change agent your organisation needs?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK FAN PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.


About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

