Develop your mind, character and body

Wellbeing involves the spirit, mind and body.

I am currently “unemployed”.  It’s my own doing.  I’m off to Canada for 6 months in May, but I decided to leave work early to enjoy a bit of me time, and to close things down here in the UK.

However, I have not stopped developing myself.  You don’t have to get paid to do that!  Paying attention to your mind and character is healthy, positive, has long-term benefits and is one of the most certain ROIs I know.

One thing was missing though.  In order to develop holistically, I needed to undertake some physical work!  OK, I do a bit of digging on my allotment plot – after all it’s spring and there is a lot to be done – but I was still putting on weight, feeling lethargic, and getting out of breath easily.  I knew I had to change the status quo.

So for the next month, before I fly off, I’m going to the gym.  I know that the benefits will be:

  • greater physical fitness
  • better sleep
  • increased serotonin – the feel good hormone
  • increased ability to concentrate – great – cos I will be able to develop myself better mentally.

I have learned that I need to give attention to my whole life – to think holistically.  I cannot leave any part out because it will affect everything else.  I will become “ill”, out of balance.

So today, I will remember that I am

  • spiritual
  • physical
  • mental

Wholeness only comes when I embrace all of me.

And after all that hard word – there’s nothing like a good massage.  Read what Randy Gage has to say about the Magic of Massage.

What actions have you adopted to ensure your wellbeing?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK FAN PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Develop your mind, character and body

  1. Hi Kate,
    Well good luck on your new adventure in Canada. My only advice (I’m a Minnesotan) is be sure and pack your long johns.
    Riley

  2. Annette says:

    I agree, but no-one’s getting me to the gym!

Leave a Reply

