What’s in a name? Kate, Catherine – seek the hidden meaning.

Kate is a Catherine

What’s in a name?  Well, a lot, actually.

I am following in the steps of future royalty!!! When Kate Middleton marries Prince William today, the public will revert to calling her by her birth name of Catherine.

I, too, am a Catherine.  I’ve been known as Kate for most of my life.  I was challenged recently to consider why I had adopted this shortened name.  This is what I recognised.

I believed that the most successful men in my circle of society/work all had short, sharp names.  When I was younger, I thought that to be more male-like was an advantage, so I began to “shed” feminine things that I believed would hinder me.

When I joined the Metropolitan Police Force, a very male orientated organisation, I became even more “masculine” at the expense of my femininity.  And this was all very subtle.  I was conforming to a stereo-type without any realisation.

However, in the last couple of years, I recognised that I had become misogynistic – not liking the female in me, and I was not healthy as a result.  There had to be a change.  So, with help, I have begun to welcome the feminine in me, to become aware when I slip back into the “male” attitude, to confess it to my accountability people, receive forgiveness and move on.  There is a lot going on, and it will be a lifetime work.

As a result of this, one of the things that I have decided is that I should use my birth name again.  So, Catherine is making a come back.

Catherine – from the Greek – means “pure”.  Wow, what a meaning.  So here’s to the next stage in my life as Catherine.

And I wish all the best to that other Kate, Kate Middleton, soon to be Catherine Windsor.

Have you denied your given name for any reason?

What does your name mean?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK FAN PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s in a name? Kate, Catherine – seek the hidden meaning.

  1. Hi Kate (soon to be a full time Catherine)
    An interesting topic. I go by my middle name (Riley) simply because I like it. An interesting unintended consequence of using my middle name is that it’s really easy to sort out friends from strangers when answering the phone. Friends call me Riley and strangers will address me as William or Bill.
    Riley (never to be Bill)

    • katehobbs says:

      Happy Friday Riley
      Names and naming is such an interesting subject. Peoples reasons for choosing how they are called will vary enormously. I hadn’t really thought about it until last year but I am glad that I did.
      My husband is starting to call me Catherine from time to time, but it is difficult when he has been calling me Kate for so long.
      People who are close to me and understand the journey that I have taken recently in this area are starting to call me Catherine as well. It won’t be easy and I suspect I will still be known as Kate to some fo rthe rest of my life. That doesn’t matter really. It’s how I accept myself, and my name, that is the real issue here.
      Have a great day. Kate

Leave a Reply

