What are you investing in?

What are you really investing in?

“You will invest your life in something or you will throw it away on nothing.” Haddon Robinson

Everyone invests in something.  If it holds significance or importance, to you, it is worth investing in. Do you know what you are investing in?  Ask yourself: “What do I spend my time, energy and money on?”  Work that one out and you will have an answer.

Here’s my analysis of my investment.

Time: I spend a lot of time on personal development; reading blogs; reading books; watching and learning from others who I see as great leaders; listening to audios.  John.C.Maxwell advocates spending time everyday on developing yourself.  I’m getting into the habit!  I also spend time with my husband.  I want to invest in my marriage and family. And I spend time in community, because I know that without it I will not grow and be challenged.

Energy: It takes energy to learn.  It takes energy to interact with my family.  It takes energy being in community and I get back as much as I put in.  It takes energy to say “No” and set boundaries to ensure that I don’t get swamped doing things that are not important to me.  What about you?

Money: Take a look at your bank statement.  That will give you a good idea about what is important to you.  If it’s like mine, the first thing I invest in is living – my largest monetary outgoing is on living (rent, tax, food, car, fuel, utilities).  But what comes after that?  Here’s my list.

  • Family
  • My Faith Community
  • Travel/Leisure

It is a wise practice to evaluate these three things on a regular basis.

So what’s your next step?  Do you agree? 

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK FAN PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are you investing in?

  1. Hi Kate,
    That’s a very thought provoking blog (my favorite kind). What you say about time and energy is perfection. I would add under money the item “saving” as a necessary expense. It’s what makes the difference as to whether you destined to always live paycheck to paycheck or someday live on the income from your investments.
    Riley

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Riley
      Thanks, as always, for the comment. I hadn’t thought to add savings, although it is something that is done automatically each month by way of a direct debit. Probably because it is automatically done, without much interaction from me, is the reason why I omitted it.
      I think that this is also the reason why we aren’t aware of our investments! We can do them so automatically that there is no sacrifice involved.
      Wishing you a great day.
      Kate

Leave a Reply

