Wisdom – if you don’t have it – ask!

What is wisdom?  The Oxford English Dictionary defines it as: the quality of having experience, knowledge, and good judgement; the quality of being wise:

No person is born wise.  As the definition infers it is something that is acquired through:

  1. experience (life),
  2. knowledge (education and learning)
  3. good judgement (choices and decisions).

I would suggest that you can’t gain wisdom from just one of the three listed above.  You have to have all three.  If the only thing I do is keep my head in a book to learn and gain knowledge, but don’t put it into practice and “experience” the working out of that knowledge, I won’t acquiring wisdom.  If I don’t make decisions and see the consequences of those decisions i.e. experience the working, then I won’t add to my wisdom bank.

If I have experience and make good judgements but want to gain more wisdom, then I can learn.  And one of the best ways for me to learn is to ask others to help me.  Asking for help is NOT a sign of weakness as far as I am concerned.  Reality and vulnerability is a sign of strength.  Therefore, don’t be afraid to ask.  Go against the way of the world which states that you can do it all by yourself.  Ask for help.

When was the last time you asked for help – for anything?  How did you feel when you asked?  What was the response?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK FAN PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.


About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wisdom – if you don’t have it – ask!

  1. Hi Kate,
    I really have trouble asking for help. I feel like Daniel Boone when he said “I’ve never been lost, but I was once bewildered for 14 days.”
    Riley

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Riley
      Thanks for the honesty. So can I challenge you? why do you think it is that you have trouble? Pride? Shame? I know that these are things that can hold me back sometimes. I need someone to help me see that this may be my stumbling block and then challenge me on pressing in on getting to the root issue as to why. Oh if only life was easier!!!!
      Kate

Leave a Reply

