Lessons from an older generation: Kindness can be found in a smile

Here are some more lessons from our older, and often wiser, teachers – senior citizens.

Lesson 6: Whenever I decide something with kindness I usually make the right decision

Decision making is part of life.  Kindness, brought about by the right motivation, will always be contagious.  Imagine putting them both together.  I love the idea of kindness being the motivation.  I wonder what would happen if we all started to make decisions in that light.

Lesson 7: It doesn’t cost anything to be nice

I don’t like the word “nice”.  How about “generous of spirit” instead?  I also don’t completely agree with this statement either.  To be truly generous costs us time and energy – even if it doesn’t cost us money.  But the payback can be incredible.

Hey, what do you think about Lesson 7?  “Nice”, “Generosity of spirit”?  What term would you use?

Lesson 8: If you smile at people, they will almost always smile back

Now, this I do agree with.  Make it a daily commitment to smile, at least once, to someone you have never met before.  It can be as you walk down the street, as you hold a door open for another, or when you get your next cup of coffee at Starbucks.  When you see the response, you probably won’t let that smile slip off your face!

Take the Lesson 8 challenge and then let me know how you get on.  Thanks.

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

