True Community – needs relationships to grow

Allotments in the rural village of Jordans. Se...

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday I wrote about how true community is very scarce in today’s society.  The modern lifestyle significantly contributes to the lack of integration with others.  However, there is another reason why true community is in decline – fear of relating.

We all go through fears from time to time but some of the fears that might stop us getting involved in a community are:

  • fear of rejection
  • fear of being deemed not worthy
  • fear of intimacy
  • fear of commitment

About six years ago, I took on an allotment garden.  I had never really grown my own food seriously and this was an undertaking that would involve time, energy, money and commitment throughout the year.  That didn’t bother me so much.  What did scare me was joining in the allotment community.

At the time I joined, there really wasn’t a strong sense of community.   Many of the allotment holders were retired people who had had their allotments for decades and worked their ground during the day, or were younger people who worked 9-5 and only showed their faces at weekends.  However, I found that I didn’t have to do anything to find myself included – people came to me.  They showed me what to do with my plot, gave me seeds and seedlings, and gave me from their abundant harvest from day one.

Then the allotment group started to organise coffee mornings on a Saturday morning.  They encouraged me to join them for a hot drink and a piece of cake.  This happened every Saturday, and I had to choose to relate to others.  Soon, I was among friends.  What I feared was not real.

I was not rejected – I was included.  I was not unworthy – I was worthy (it didn’t matter that I didn’t know everything about growing food).  I made a commitment to these wonderful people who had encouraged me and I took on more responsibility.

I had received generously from others, and now I wanted to give away what I had received to someone else who was in the same situation that I had been in.

That is community.

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

