Are you easily distracted? Do you fall for the “greener grass” lie?

I have often found myself saying:

“The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.”

This old adage refers to the way we tend to look at other people’s lives and other things that we don’t have and wishing that we had those things.

To give it another name: Distraction.  If we spend our time coveting other things, we will lose sight of vision, goals, perspective.  You could say that you were watering and feeding this distraction.

Giving considerable time and attention to other people’s possessions, skills, family – wishing they were ours – will only feed jealousy, hatred, and greed.  Those things eat away at you and cause pain, sickness and loss.

So, instead of watering what you can’t have, look at what you do have and water that.

Perhaps the old adage should read:

“The grass is always greener where you water it.”

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Are you easily distracted? Do you fall for the “greener grass” lie?

  1. Kate,
    It would seem that real growth is a function of focus and those who know how to focus minimize distraction. A good read – thanks.
    Riley

Leave a comment