How do we react when things don’t go our way?

Three weeks into my “new life” in Canada and I have been initiated!  I love ice hockey!  Well I did…….

The Vancouver Canucks and the Boston Bruins have been playing each other for 7 games for the Stanley Cup.  The final game was yesterday.  And the Canucks lost, at home, by 4 goals to nil.

As a result, the “loyal” fans rioted, overturning cars, setting fire to roadside property and there were running clashes with police in the streets.

This is an extreme reaction when things don’t go the “right” way.  In the UK, we sometimes call it “Throwing your toys out of the pram” meaning that the reaction is a babyish/toddler-like reaction – one that really is not right for an adult.

How do you react when things don’t go right for you when you are in leadership?

  • Do you throw a tantrum?
  • Do you get drunk?
  • Do you get aggressive?
  • Do you sulk?
  • Do you blame others and not accept responsibility for your actions?

If you react in any of the above ways, people will get hurt – physically or emotionally.  If you, as a leader, react in this way your followers will see that they have a right to react in the same way.  After all, followers will act out what they are shown.  What results is chaos.

  • Do you react with calmness, although disappointed?
  • Do you accept responsibility?

A great leader will use such situations as a learning experience – analysing, seeking to understand and then to learn from the mistake or situation to not repeat it again in the future.  What he is modelling is vulnerability, and is fostering a culture of taking risks.

I know whose team I’d rather be in.  What about you?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

