Make Room for Others and Develop New Leaders.

One of the most wonderful things that I have been taught over the years is to “Make Room” for others.  We should continually be expanding our vision or calling to include others, and their ideas.  However, many managers and some leaders, find it incredibly difficult to let new people into their work/social circle.  Why?  Probably fear.

Of all the leaders that I have read, or read about, the most exciting are those who gather others to themselves for the purpose of sharing knowledge, mentoring new leaders, and giving away all that they have acquired over their time in leadership.  In fact, many of them have made themselves dispensable i.e. have done themselves out of a job.  Do they mind?  Not in the least.  That was the intention all along.

That shouts selflessness, humility and generosity.

It is my intention that I am able to pass on what I have learned in order that others grow.  I hope that I make room for others.  I have a simple visible reminder, which I often use.  When I am teaching or sharing, I make sure that there is one more chair than people in the room.  Why?  So that when a new person comes in, the chair is waiting for them.  There is room for them.  They feel that they were expected and wanted. That, in itself, is a powerful lesson.

Maybe, you’d like to try the empty chair idea for yourself and see how you get on with it.  I’d appreciate hearing back as to how it worked for you.

 

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

