What is the ideal working environment?

Do you notice that food tastes so different when you eat it outside, in the warm sun, and take your time over it?

I was wondering if working outside would put a different perspective on things.  So I am writing this post outside, looking out over lakes and mountains, in comfortably warm sunshine.

So, is there a difference?

Well, apart from the shine on the screen (!!!) I feel more relaxed, less strained, more aware of my surroundings and, even though I say this myself, more creative/inspired.

There may be many reasons for this:

  • Relaxed: surrounded by greenery – they say that the colour green is calming and restful
  • less strained: my eyes are not focussed closely on the screen.  Although I can touch type, that I can focus my eyes on a vista seems to relax the mind
  • Surroundings: the calm sound of the wind in the trees, and gentle warmth of the sun on my face brings about a sense of well-being
  • More creative:  that remains open to debate.  They say the “taste of the pudding is in the eating” so you will have to be the judge.

I am incredibly aware of how fortunate I am to be able to work like this.  Many people work in high-rise, air-conditioned offices.  Even here, you can be and should be aware of your working environment.  So here’s my little list of suggestions:

  1. Get greenery into your office.  It doesn’t have to be a big tree or a large ornamental display – just a couple of indoor plants within easy sight of you will begin to have an effect.  Don’t forget to water them!!!
  2. If you are a smoker, chances are that your office allows you a number of smoke breaks a day.  If you are a non-smoker, do you go out and have breaks?  You should.  Get up, walk around the office, or get outside for 10mins.  If you are fortunate enough to have a window near you, go look outside.  Allowing your eyes to adjust to long distance is good for them.
  3. Offices are known for their “white noise”.  If you are allowed your iPod or mp3 player at your desk, you may want to consider downloading some relaxing, chill out music, or even better music that is known to affect moods i.e calming, energising, reflective, inspiring.

It is well known that when you are working in the correct environment, productivity increases.  It’s not the only reason, but at least you can start to take a little control over the working area in your part of the office.

What other benefits would you consider to be the result of working outside regularly?

Do you, or have you worked outside?  Tell us your story.

 

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is the ideal working environment?

  1. Hi Kate,
    I do a lot of reading and writing at coffee shops and book stores. Comfortable chairs (Borders book stores have instruments of torture masquerading as chairs), little bit of privacy with tolerable background noise are my requirements. I used to have an office job that I absolutely hated and everyday at lunch I would shop for a plant. It’s amazing how many plants a little office can hold.
    Riley

    • katehobbs says:

      Hello again, Riley
      I just love your responses. Thank you for your encouragement. I can see that we have both benefitted from the delights of out-of-office working. May we both continue to have that privilege.
      Kate

Leave a Reply

