My attitude and choices make my day, and other people’s day.

“It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration, I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and a person is humanized or de-humanized. If we treat people as they are, we make them worse. If we treat people as they ought to be, we help them become what they are capable of becoming.”

Goethe

I found the above quote when I visited Riley Harrison’s blog “Getting Unstuck and Living Life Fully”

I have dipped in and out of Riley’s blog for a while now and enjoy the conversations that we have had, and the comments that he draws from others.  However, this quote,  one of many from Riley, reminded me that I have an important part to play in how my day, my week, my life pans out.

Notice that the above quote shows that we can either be self-centered or other people-centered.  Throughout out my dealings with people, I have found that those who are insular, isolated, and independent are very difficult to get along with – their view on life and their mindset can’t focus beyond themselves.  I find then energy sapping and hard work.

From those who are outward focused, relational, and social I find an energy and life that can add benefit to me and whoever they meet.

The above quote infers that I too can either be hard to get on with or one who adds to other peoples lives.  It’s about an attitude of mind.

There is a quote that most people are familiar with “Treat others as you would like to be treated.”  It suggests that we have to take the first step in this attitude business.  So today, I choose to be outward focused, responsible for the wellbeing of others, not so I have a great day.  No – so that they have a great day.

Share an example of when you have consciously changed your attitude and seen the benefits among others.

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My attitude and choices make my day, and other people’s day.

  1. Thank you Kate for the mention. That quote is one of my favorites but it’s hard to go wrong when quoting Goethe. Have a good day and enjoy the summer.
    Riley

  2. jenpeterson says:

    Kate,
    Thanks for the link back. Love the quote at the beginning of your post!
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

