Time – it’s in your hands – Don’t miss out on the most important things.

I suspect you will have heard of the saying “To everything there is a season”, or another way of putting it could be “There is an opportune time to do things.”

Following on from an earlier post “Addicted to Work”, I know that there is a time to work, and a time to rest, but I did infer in the post that some people work too much, and for the wrong reasons.

The challenge for every one of us is to make sure that we give time to work, rest, play; be with family and friends; to encourage others, or correct as necessary.  Add to this list as you see fit.

But many of us avoid doing these things that are essential because we use the excuse “We don’t have time.”  For some this is legitimate, for others it is a way of absolving themselves of responsibility.  It won’t be long before your friends and family notice if you are making this excuse.  They will demand your attention for only so long, and then they will stop asking.  They will give up on you.  Can you run that risk of loosing out on the important things in your life because you have put emphasis and time on the wrong things?

Read what King Solomon said

“I observed all the work and ambition motivated by envy.  What a waste.

The fool sits back and takes it easy.  His sloth is slow suicide.

One handful of peaceful repose is better than two fistfuls of worried work.

I turned my head and saw ….. a solitary person, completely along – no children, no family, no friends – yet working obsessively late into the night, compulsively greedy for more and more, never bothering to ask “Why am I working like a dog, never having any fun?”  And who cares?

My encouragement to you is to check how you divide your time and, if you see yourself in King Solomon’s words, make a life saving change.  Reconcile relationships, spend time with family and friends, rebalance your work and rest times.   Enjoy yourself.

 

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time – it’s in your hands – Don’t miss out on the most important things.

  1. Hi Kate,
    I love the analogy about a sailboat having to tack back and forth to get to its destination. I think balancing recreational activities, life’s obligations etc. requires constant scrutiny and adjustment. Working too hard – it’s time to rest and renew. Restless and raring to go – it’s time for commitment and work.
    Riley

Leave a Reply

