I get by with a little help from my friends.

It’s been a week or so since I last made a post.  The reason for the absence?  I’m cherry picking!

There is something in all of us that wants to help others, particularly in times of great need.  For me, I often see opportunity to help someone, whether it be to do a shopping run, cook a meal for a new mother tired out after the birth of her baby, or volunteer at a drop-in centre.  And the need at the moment is to help with the cherry harvest for some friends.

The husband has just given up his very secure job to concentrate on running a fruit orchard here in Summerland, in the Southern Okanagan.  He has a wife and three children to support.  However, as with all new startups, there are needs that cannot be met in the first few months without help.  So Steve and I have become unpaid labour, along with a small group of others who have all come together to help bring in the harvest.

Do you know what?  It feels good to help.  And that’s where I have to be careful.  I get affirmation from doing things.  However, I can’t always be “doing” so I need to be able to find affirmation and satisfaction in other things to, otherwise I will burn out in trying to continually feed my soul.

Going back to the cherries – the weather has not been good for cherries, so it has not been a great start to a new life for our friends.  However, everyone is upbeat and optimistic.  And there are so many people who want to see this family succeed, I don’t think they will be alone or without help.  It’s that what is so good about community?  I love it when it works.

What are your uplifting stories of an answer for help?

What do you consider to be the great points of community?

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

