Working relationships – know your personality type

I have decided that I don’t like mosquitoes.  I am sure that there is a purpose for their existence but I don’t want them to exist near me.  Why is it that, in spite of spraying insect repellent on my bare skin, they proceed to bite me anyway – through my jeans!!!!

And the after effects – the itch – the histamine reaction.  It’s not fair!!!!

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where there is always “someone” who, it would seem to you, has it in for you?  Like the mosquito, regardless of how you ‘defend’ yourself, they have a way of getting under you skin?

Being with them just seems to cause stress, agitation, difficulties, and it sometimes gets to the point that you dread seeing them walk into the room.  And it’s even worse if it’s your boss, right?

Maybe one of the reasons for the tension is because you may be different personality types.  Finding out your personality type, I believe, is a worthwhile exercise.  Knowing your colleagues types, and if you are in leadership, your team’s personality types will help you relate to each other, and offer understanding when things “kick off”.

Me, I’m a Sanguine (social) with some Phlegmatic (artistic).  Sanguines are extroverts, optimistic, friendly and connect easily with others.   Phlegmatics are lovers of peace, in contact with their emotions, and those of others.  They seek harmonious relationships with everyone.  They are creative.

However, there are other types to be aware of:

Chloreric (enterprising) – the controller, the “bull in a china shop” who rushes into things without thinking through the situation and is unconscious of the chaos that follows in his/her wake.  They can’t understand why people don’t think and work hard, in the same way as they do.

Melancholic (investigative/conventional) – contrary to popular thinking it doesn’t always mean “miserable.”  These people are perfectionists, and are very analytical.

Although knowing these personality types might not resolve the “mosquito situation”, it may help bring about better relating which, in turn, brings about a better working atmosphere.  You don’t have to sit back and just take things personally, you can do some proactive research into yourself and your colleagues.  I challenge you to do something that will help you understand how other people operate.

As well as doing a Google search on the above types, you may also wish to Google Myers Briggs and take an online test.  Although differently worded, the sentiments/results are the same.

Have fun.

So what personality type are you? 

How might knowing your type, and your colleagues’ types help you prevent/resolve conflict?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Working relationships – know your personality type

  1. Kate,
    I fall into the INT slot in Myers-Briggs testing. Over the years I’ve become more extroverted. People who knew me when I was in my twenties are amazed that I’ve had jobs in marketing/sales. Because we don’t have access to body language on the internet it makes it harder to gauge personality types. As an example I would have thought you were more introverted than the personality tests show.
    Riley

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Riley
      It is so important to get the “full picture” of people. If you met me you would see that I am not introvert but extrovert, confident, and strong. Maybe I need to put up some video links within my posts soon so that people can get to know be more. I appreciate you pointing out how you initially imagined me to be. That’s really helpful to know how I am coming across within these posts. Many thanks.
      Kate

  2. Hi Kate,
    Did the Myers Briggs at a retreat for Bank Managers some years back. Still got the report somewhere? however I remember out of around 100 people I was the only one in this particular category. Maybe I’m just weird however that’s the way I like it. I take people as I find them & find I read people pretty well. Sure helps when I’m coaching. Thanks Kate.
    be good to yourself
    David

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi David
      Thank you for your comment. I really appreciate you dropping by as you do.
      It’s strange how we hope that we will relate well to everyone without really trying, but it takes time and effort to get to know people. Within coaching and counselling, we don’t always have the benefits of time on our side and have to produce results pretty quickly. To have an understanding of other people through such tools as Myers Briggs is helpful.
      Wish you well
      Kate.

Leave a Reply

