What are people surprised to learn about you?

This is a question that I often ask clients when they have attended my software training sessions.  It’s an icebreaker, get’s people chatting, and give people a chance to talk about themselves, which everyone loves to do – don’t they?

I have had a varied career and one of my answers to the question is that I was a police officer in London’s Metropolitan Police Force.  For many who hear this, it’s a profession that they haven’t often met before.  If they have, it’s either because they were incredibly drunk outside a night club, or they have had that fateful knock at the door.

I loved the police.  It taught me to be capable in any given situation.  It trained me in leadership and decision-making, and it displayed the advantages of team work exceptionally.  Having said that, I dealt with situations that the average person would hardly ever meet and some incidents were incredibly heart wrenching.

And then you got to see the ‘seedier’ side of life; the life of those who live alongside hardship; those who live with addictions; those who are victims.

What remains with me from those days is that there is always hope.  It was often those who had nothing, or suffered much, that were the most generous and loyal people I met.  They may not have appreciated police intervention but when treated like people rather than suspects, their response often changed.

So how would you answer the above question? 

And what long-lasting lesson did you learn from your experience?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

