Asking for Help and Receiving It.

As you know if you have read any of my recent, but yet not regular, posts – I have helped out a couple on their cherry orchard.  It has been wonderful to see how our efforts in getting the cherries in has meant that this wonderful couple have been able to sell regularly to walk-in customers and fulfill large orders placed by food stores.

Last week, I thought that we had finished, there being no other large orders to meet.  Steve and I left saying that if anything changed, they could call us and we would be back.  We heard nothing.  On Monday evening, I phoned them just to chat and was informed that another large order had been placed.  I challenged them as to why they hadn’t phoned but their response was one of “we thought you had done enough for us.”  We were there next morning early and back to work.

I must confess that I was a little saddened that our friends did not think that they could ask us for help again.  For whatever reason, whether pride, laziness, shame not making that phone call could have meant that they missed the order.  As we talked about things that morning, I hoped that they realised Steve and I were sincere in our offer and that they could ask us for help.

Having said all this – I did not realise that I was being taught exactly the same lesson of not being too proud to ask for help!  Steve and I would like to live longer in Canada, and to be able to work here.  We are talking to immigration about the options.  However, the other day, someone said to us “What can we do to help you stay here?”

I struggled to answer the question, believing that I had no right to ask for something that might mean a major commitment from them.  I had to put my pride aside.  I had to give up my shame of not being able to do things on my own.  I had to honestly tell them what they could do to help.  The answer was a big one and I felt very awkward in supplying it.

But I was being taught that I, too, need to ask and to receive it graciously.  Funny how these things turn around to bite us in the……..

How have you learned the lesson to ask and receive?

Thank you for taking the time to visit me here.  I appreciate any feedback that you care to give. Please add a comment to introduce yourself, or add value to what I have written in this post.

Join in the conversation, or start one of your own, at my FACEBOOK PAGE

Want to be notified of new posts to this site?  The subscribe button is at the top right of the page.  Thanks.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asking for Help and Receiving It.

  1. So many people think they have to do it alone. They believe that they have to single-handedly manifest everything they want without the aid of others–that somehow asking for help is “not doing it right”. Nothing could be further from the truth.

    When you get intentional with your vision, the universe acts IMMEDIATELY to bring that vision into
    your reality and it has an INFINITE number of ways to do that at its disposal. Often what happens first is that you get inspired ideas for action to take. Or other resources will show up to assist you in your journey. Very often those resources are in the form of PEOPLE. These people will show up at just the right time with just the right skill set to take you on your next steps.

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Rachel
      thank you for visiting the page and commenting. That means a lot. I agree that people think they have to do it alone – to ask for help is a sign of weakness. Definitely not true. Society and Media has added to this lie for some time though – I think of Hollywood images that Sylvester Stallone and others have created on film. People believe that stuff!
      Seeing the lie, recognising that they have believed it and then wanting to do something to change it is a powerful development process – one which we all need and I am still learning 🙂

      Regards
      Kate

Leave a Reply

