Be an Encourager, Motivator, Mentor

When you are finding things tough, who do you turn to to receive encouragement and support?  Is it your family?  Best Friend?  Counsellor? Life-Coach?

Sometimes, for me, it can be a combination of people who I have learned to trust over time.  However, on occasion, it could be someone I have never met.

Today, Steve and I were invited out for a meal with new friends.  They had also invited a couple that we had never met before – Gunter and Kristina.  Over lunch, I listened to Gunter tell incredible stories of overcoming adversity, both in health and finances.  They included leaving Europe and arriving in Canada with almost nothing and starting over, to near death experiences and being given health again.

We all need to hear, or read, true stories of people overcoming hardships.  We can all relate to these struggles because, at some point, we will all have experiences, or will experience, such things.  On hearing these stories, my heart is encouraged; I feel motivated to continue pressing on through my own struggles.

We don’t often hear such stories face to face.  For the teller, it might not seem relevant.  On the other hand, the teller might not want the attention, or want to make the effort to tell a story that he/she may have told several times before.  But there is a time to tell and hear stories because the benefits, to listener and speaker alike, can be life-changing.

Who knows what might happen when you tell your story of breakthrough?  You may just give someone the hope and encouragement they need not to give in and to persevere.

If you have a moment please answer the following:

What’s your story?

How do you encourage or motivate others?

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

