Autumn – a time of fruitfulness but not for all.

Autumn is beginning to show its colourful face here on Carmi Mountain, Penticton.

Here on the mountain, Autumn is beginning to make an appearance.  I have to confess that the colours that come with this time of year are amazing.  However, I nearly always find that I become a little sad; sad that the warmth of summer is disappearing; sad that the fun and laid-back atmosphere that comes with holidays and vacations is long since passed; sad that as the temperatures cool there is the awareness that colder weather and darker evenings are on the way.

I don’t know if I am affected by SADs (Seasonal Affective Disorder) but my mood and outlook certainly changes.  I don’t get depressed but I can get a bit low.  There are things I can do to help me over this:

  • Take Vit D supplements
  • Take Omega-3 supplements
  • Take St John’s Wort (please check whether this is suitable for you if you are taking any medication already)
  • Be around positive people
  • Deal with my attitude and mindset

There are some things I like about this time of year though.  I love to eat seasonally so this is the time for wonderfully warming soups and casseroles of squashes and legumes.  It’s also the time for “hunkering down” in warm jumpers and blankets.  And for those fortunate enough to have an open wood or coal-burning fire, well….. can I be honest and say I’m quite jealous!

So what am I trying to say here?  Well, I have found it beneficial to be open and honest about how I am affected in the autumn.  It helps others know that I could get moody, but I have also allowed those same good people to challenge me too.  Notice that I said earlier I can choose my attitude and mindset?  I can look to the positives and concentrate on those good, fulfilling, healthy and abundant things.  It doesn’t mean that I won’t feel low from time to time, but it does mean that I don’t have to stay there.

Are you aware of any autumn effects in your life?

Do you suffer from SADs and how have you overcome it?

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn – a time of fruitfulness but not for all.

  1. Ula says:

    Hi Kate, I nominated you for “The Most Versatile Blogger Award.” I enjoy following your blog and this is a way of thanking you. To find out more, you are welcome to check out my blog at http://jesuscarriesme.wordpress.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

