Global Leadership Summit

"Lead Where You Are"

On Thursday and Friday of the past week, I attended The Global Leadership Summit – a conference originally hosted at Willow Creek Church near Chicago back in August – which was hosted in Kelowna and across many sites in Canada.  It is a summit that is held globally; the UK and Europe will be running theirs next month.

The GLS’s aim is to inspire and develop leaders of all types, from all situations:

  • Business leaders
  • Charity and NGO leaders
  • Church leaders
  • Youth leaders
  • Anyone in a leadership role

The speakers were varied, from US politicians to highly recognised academics; from church leaders to Seth Godin!

There is a lot for me to process but my quick takeaways immediately after the summit are:

  • Humility and Vulnerability are powerful
  • Do something (Hon. Cory A. Booker)
  • Do it differently
  • Become a cultivator of human talent (Erwin McManus)
  • Tribes need leaders who will commit, connect and cast vision clearly (Seth Godin)

I hope that over the next couple of posts I will openly process these subjects – and I’ll share them with you as I do.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

