Humility is Generative

Humility challenges us to step out into new things.

Continuing my ‘mini-series’ inspired by the talk by John Dickson from the Global Leadership Summit, and his book “Humilitas”, I thought I would process how humility challenges us to step out into new things.

Whenever I see someone who displays humility there is something inside me that says ‘I want that’ or ‘I want to do what they do’.  It brings inspiration and challenges me to look at how I do things and see if I can do them differently and be more effective.  I also find myself in a place of learning.  I want to know more about this humble person, what they do, what they are involved in.  Is it something that I can become involved in?

Humility also challenges my abilities.  Where I might have not considered myself able in some areas, I find that being around a humble person encourages me to stretch myself to do new things, or greater things.  I grow in confidence and in ability.

I agree with John Dickson when he says that in the workplace “we are watched more closely and listened to more carefully.”  If we understand that humility is a place of growth then we will only do our best at work, using every opportunity to grow, to learn, to understand and to stretch ourselves. We see appraisals and feedback as a learning time, not a time to be feared.  They give us opportunity to change how we do things for the better.

As has already been said, humility is a power that is held in the service of others.  Therefore, we want to see our colleagues succeed too, so we do everything we can to allow that to happen.  We learn that the focus is not on ourselves but always on others.

So, be inspired today.  I hope that you see humility displayed today in others and, if not, why don’t you display it for others to see.  Step out.

Have you seen humility displayed recently?  How did it challenge you?

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Humility is Generative

  1. Ula says:

    As I was reading this I was thinking of Jesus and His display of humility on the Cross, where He was mocked and yet had the power to restrain His power. I was thinking of that as a display of the utmost humility. Thanks for the post Kate. I’m loving your series on humility. 🙂

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Ula
      The cross changed everything. Society is still affected by the humility of the cross. It’s “cruciform” i.e. shaped by the cross.

      Thanks for your continued comments.
      Kate

Leave a Reply

