Keep your promises

I’ve just been reading this post “Expectation and Promises” at Wordsmith’s Desk, by LeRoy Dean, which reminded me that if I say I will do something, then I had better do it.

Too often we go through life saying things ‘off the cuff’ without realising that what we are saying could be received by another person completely differently from the way it was intended.  The above post challenged me to re-think how I say things, and attempt to put myself in the shoes of the receiver.

I love what how LeRoy describes it:

“Maybe you have never considered the statements you make to your spouse, your children, your friends and your co-workers as promises. If you tell someone, specifically, that you are going to do something, then you have made a promise. If you fail to deliver on that promise, then you have broken a promise and let someone down. It may not seem like a “big deal,” but tell that to the one who was expecting what you promised.”

I couldn’t have put it better myself.

I’m reminded of the saying that my parents and grandparents used to tell me, which I believe is quite pertinent here:

“Think before you speak.”

If you have read my posts for a while, then you will know that I want to live with honesty and integrity.  Part of living that way challenges me to deliver on the promises I make.  It’s an hourly challenge but I’m taking small steps in the right direction.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keep your promises

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Thank you for your encouragement and your positive message.

Leave a Reply

