In what ways do you stand out?

When I was in senior management I would often conduct interviews.  There were some questions that I would always ask the candidate:

  1. What are your dreams and aspirations?
  2. How would you describe yourself?
  3. If I was to meet your friends in the pub or club, how would they describe you to me?

I have found that these questions show the guarded side of the candidate.  Suddenly, you have them talking about themselves, rather than the prospective job role, and they are more open.

So, if you were being interviewed by me, how would you answer the above?

Here’s what I would say about myself.

  1. Enjoy living and working outdoors with nature, growing my own food, and possibly making my hobby my business
  2. Extrovert, optimistic, encouraging, a good listener, looking to live a transparent life with integrity and vulnerability, an encourager of people
  3. Social, hospitable, easy to get on with, enjoyable company, fun and loving, honest

So go on, do a quick self-analysis and post them in the comments.  Looking forward to hearing your answers.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In what ways do you stand out?

  1. I would say my dreams are to have a career in social media or blogging/writing. I would describe myself as organized, someone who thinks positively and energetic. My friends would describe me as fun, friendly, funny and always willing to help.

  2. These questions you’ve posted are really important ones that everyone should ask themselves, but sadly most people never do. I certainly never did until much later in life!

    Here are my answers:

    1.What are your dreams and aspirations?
    To contribute, inspire and make a difference

    2.How would you describe yourself?
    Somebody who seeks continual improvement.

    3.If I was to meet your friends in the pub or club, how would they describe you to me?
    Funny, thought provoking and possibly annoying (in a good way I hope!) lol

    • katehobbs says:

      Thank you Kian for visiting and taking the time to answer these questions. As you say, not many people take the time to self-evaluate. Those who do are keen to develop character and understanding.
      Hope to have more conversations with you in the future.

Leave a Reply

