Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

Living in the UK didn’t guarantee snow, but here in Canada it’s a completely different story.

Here are some of my initial shots.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

  1. Brandon says:

    Love that second pic, Kate. http://wp.me/pdJ7S-tb

    • katehobbs says:

      Thank you Brandon. I’m looking around me and seeing that “ordinary” things can become beautiful things too. I’ve just got to open my eyes.
      Happy New Year.

  2. Yelly says:

    I love garden benches! πŸ™‚ Might have something to do with the movie Notting Hill but there you go!
    Thanks for stopping by the blog. Mind you, I am thankful that there isn’t snow as I’ve got to travel up north and snow can and WILL always cause a lot of bother. I’d rather travel in relative peace πŸ™‚

  3. I love the bench, gorgeous!

    • katehobbs says:

      Funny isn’t it, how the one pic that I don’t feel the most enthusiastic about, has proved to be the most popular. Just goes to show that other people see things differently. Therefore, every photograph is of value. Thanks for visiting Gilly.

  4. jakesprinter says:

    I Love this post , Great photography πŸ™‚

  5. These are beautiful photos. Isn’t it interesting that snow can turn any vista beautiful πŸ™‚

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Brenda
      I agree that views take on something new when covered in snot. Snow can make things so clean and I think that this is what fascinates us so much. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Jo Bryant says:

    these are great but number 2 is incredible

  7. hugmamma says:

    aaahhh…the great outdoors…i like viewing them through glass…

    i’m an island girl…always will be… πŸ˜‰

    • katehobbs says:

      I love taking scenic photographs, but I am still learning to capture it on camera as in real life. Not such an easy task. But every effort counts.
      Happy New Year.

  8. great captures, all of them.
    the bench details are especially wonderful.
    if it is any consolation, there are parts of Canada that never have winter.
    that is my selective memory speaking πŸ™‚

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Kris
      I know that Vancouver Island and the lower Fraser Valley is very prone to wet and grey weather – Just like the UK really!!! But I know that I love the mountains and the snow here in the Okanagan. And then, of course, they get very good summers. It’s the ideal place to be for me.
      Thanks for your comments about the photographs. Funny how you see more in a photo when others point things out to you. Happy New Year.

  9. Nandini says:

    Very very Beautiful winter photos! Loved them. And the second one stands out, very well captured. Great! πŸ™‚

  10. Madman says:

    Very promissing “initial” shots πŸ™‚ Thanks for the share!

  11. Patrick says:

    I really like these shots of the snow! Really nice!

    • katehobbs says:

      Hey Patrick, thanks for the feedback. We have just had another downfall of snow so there will probably be more winter wonderlands added to my photo gallery!!
      Kate

  12. Amazing photos! Thank you for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

