Weekly Photo Challenge – Launch

There were a number of launches (boats) in the marina when I visited, all being prepared for the winter.

I wonder if I could run so hard down the walkway that I will be able to “launch” myself across the gap and land on the ‘launch’ the other side?  Ummm.

 

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge – Launch

  1. haha I’m normally one to say Follow your Instincts, but I don’t think that would be wise on this occasion. Great photo 🙂

  2. jakesprinter says:

    I love the shot before they launch 🙂

  3. Well you found a perfect shot!

  4. Pingback: Launch (Weekly Photo Challenge 2012) « Cardinal Guzman

  5. Jane says:

    I love it! I love boats and had considered a boat-related picture. Yours is better than any boat photos I have. I’d encourage you to try to launch yourself, except I recommend doing it not with that camera in hand 😉

    • katehobbs says:

      Hey Hey! I think that this photo challenge, and my own 365 challenge for 2012 is a big launching pad for me and my photography. Looking forward to this year, and growing in a new skill/talent. Thanks for the encouragement Jane.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  7. Ruth Bailey says:

    I like your photo, but we have a boat and this time of year, getting ready to take the boat out of the water, I would have called it a “pull” with the “launch” taking place in the spring when the boats go back in the water. Btw, we can hardly wait until spring to launch our boat again and enjoy sailing on the Chesapeake Bay!

    • katehobbs says:

      I have been so surprised by the response to this photograph. I didn’t know that it would cause so many comments. I am not a boat person but can appreciate them; their shapes; their lines; their personalities.
      Enjoy your boat/launch/craft. May you have many hours of pleasure.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment. It is very much appreciated.

  8. Susan Bradley says:

    What I appreciate about this picture is that it is near impossible to tell which season it is! When I first saw it, though I knew you had just taken the picture, I momentarily allowed myself to drift back to summer memories…

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Susan
      Thank you for the comments. I enjoyed being down at the marina. The one thing that you can’t get in the photo is the sounds! There is something rather settling about hearing the saillines (I hope that’s what they are called – I’m not nautical!) banging against the masts in the gentle breeze.
      Kate

  9. Amar Naik says:

    nice photo

  10. Jo Bryant says:

    this looks fabulous

  11. All things are possible .. you just have to try. Perhaps if you used a towel like
    a superman cape you might actually reach. LOLOL .. I have pix’s similar to your
    from a marina where I live. You pix has wonderful clarity.
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/weekly-photo-challenge-launch

Leave a Reply

