52 Pick Up Challenge – 50 Steps from Home or Work

This is my entry for this week’s challenge from Sherene at Print-Sense Photography& Design.  For full details of this challenge, and to join in, click here.

I am so fortunate.  This is the view from my window, but I went outside today to ensure I got a really good photo to share with you.  I rent a basement in a house some 3000ft up the side of a mountain and I look over the Okanagan Lake, in the beautiful province of British Columbia.

Okanagan Lake, looking north from Penticton to Peachland.

I did do a little walking around and saw this birdhouse.  My landlord’s children insisted on having numerous birdhouses around the property to attract smaller birds.  It’s quite quaint.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Canada, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 52 Pick Up Challenge – 50 Steps from Home or Work

  1. Sonel says:

    Absolutely beautiful! Love the birdhouse. It’s adorable! Great entry! 🙂

  2. Maggie L R says:

    Beautiful BC.. how I miss it. I do love the birdhouse…

    • katehobbs says:

      Thanks. I am in love with BC too, being from the UK. I want to stay here, but I don’t know if that will be possible. I am enjoying what I have now and trying not to get anxious about the future.

  3. Inga says:

    How beautiful! What a fantastic view. And the birdhouse is really cute 🙂

  4. So beautiful! My folks have land out that way and I can’t wait to get back there this summer. he birdhouse is my favourite. I like the different perspective. ~ Sherene

  5. leamuse says:

    Penticton is as beautiful as I remembered it. I once stayed on the lake there while working for relatives at the Penticton Peach Festival. That was quite a few years back. Much has changed for me and now I live my dreams in France. Thanks for visiting one of my blogs. If interested the other one is: http://foundinfrance.wordpress.com I hope you will visit one or both blogs again in the future.

    Léa

    • katehobbs says:

      Lea, thank you for visiting here. Penticton is spectacular, nestled between the two lakes, and surrounded by mountains. I experienced the Peach Festival for the first time last year – no peaches though because the seasons were later as the weather had been ‘misbehaving’. I hope you continue to enjoy France, as much as I am loving The Okanagan.

  6. Wow, it’s wonderful what a fantastic view you’ve got just outside your window – breathtaking! 🙂

    • katehobbs says:

      We are fortunate. Today, the lake is looking grey, but then there is a large amount of cloud cover. Thank you for visiting and taking time to comment.

  7. beingjulz says:

    Beautiful! I’m looking forward to seeing more.

  8. Pingback: 52 steps, up and down, with a camera | A Number of Things

Leave a Reply

