Processing – Change

I know that change is on my horizon in the next couple of months.  This could mean:

  • moving from the home we are currently in to another in Penticton OR
  • moving to Victoria, Vancouver Island, BC OR
  • going back to the UK

Moving is a certainty.  One of the above is a certainty, and to be honest, the only one I really want to face is the first.  Why? I feel more in control of that one as opposed to the other scenarios.  Also, I have grown to love Penticton and in the last year I have made many, many dear friends.  The thought of leaving them hurts, and like everyone else, I don’t want to hurt.

I know that change is inevitable, but it does not stop the fear of the unknown creeping in.  For me, this is my biggest issue.  I am someone who does not like surprises, and would like to have everything laid out and listed so that I know where I should be by when, and with whom.

So, I could:

  • live in denial
  • accept it but become anxious about all the details
  • accept it and look at the positive outcomes that I have experienced, and could experience in the future.
  • Enjoy the process.

I know that I have a choice to make in how I deal with this phase of my life.

Living in denial will not remove the situation, as much as I would like things to stay the same, so I would be wasting energy on trying to stop the inevitable.  King Canute comes to mind!!!

Accepting things but being anxious is not going to help me either.  I could get stressed, and this increases things like blood pressure, and other illnesses.  I’ve already alluded to the problems that prolonged chemical changes can do to the body.  (Note: I am not a medical professional)

Accepting and recognising the positives:  Now this sounds like something I could do.  Perhaps I need to make a “Gratitude List”, something that has been brought to my attention again recently by a blogging friend called Buckwheatsrisk.  Check out her post for how this could work.  If negativity can have harmful effects on the body, it goes to say that positivity should have the opposite and be good for me!

Enjoy the process.  There is so much to learn in all of this.  I’d like to think that, when I look back on this time in my life, I will have changed for the better.  It will fun to see in what ways.

Do you have any more thoughts or opinions about processing change that I could consider?  I’d love to hear them.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Processing – Change

  1. Thank you Kate! The biggest lesson I am learning (still in process) but am putting into practice daily is, only look at the next step. What is your next step? If you look at the big picture, it will freak you out but if you figure out what your next step is and just focus on that. Things don’t seem so bad…it has been instrumental in maintaining my sanity! When you can do it, there is actually phenomenal peace. You can do it even as small as…okay my next step today is to eat breakfast. Focus on that task until it is done and then move on to the next…(etc.) It connects with Mathew 6:25-28 There is such protection in that scripture for us. Sorry this is so long.
    Blessings

  2. Sonel says:

    Oh sweetie, I know exactly what you’re going through and the only advice I can give you is just to go with it and enjoy. Live in the moment and take every day with a smile and don’t think of tomorrow or even of what you think you’re losing. It gets better and one day you notice that you don’t care where you live anymore. Home is where the heart is and everything happens for a reason. The universe wants you somewhere else…where you are needed maybe. Who knows? Who knows what you will be gaining? Maybe there are strangers there that needs a friend like you and they’ve been waiting all their life for someone like you? See it as a big adventure taking you on a journey of life and yes, I’ve been through it. Been there..done that and if it should happen again…fine by me! LOL! *big hugs*

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Sonel, Thanks for the encouragement. I hadn’t thought about the point that there could be people just waiting for someone like me to turn up! That’s quite uplifting. I think that this is all part of my journey into taking risks too. I am going to look for the fun in this and most days are good. Some are not, hence my little ramble today.
      Once again, thank you.

      • Sonel says:

        No problem hon and don’t worry…we are all human and we may ramble..hehehe. It’s what makes us human. 🙂
        *hugs*

  3. Jude says:

    I think change affects us all differently. I find it difficult to live without. Too long anywhere and my feet itch, and I move on so easily, and eagerly. For some it’s frightening and and disconcerting. I think you can only try to embrace it, to enjoy what it brings into your life. You’ll never lose what you’re leaving, not really, it will always be in your heart. Have courage Kate – it will all be OK!

  4. Aasim Mirza says:

    Hi
    As Chinese say “journey of thousand mile begin with a single step”. You have taken the first step and moved to Canada. The thing is “what is important for you which you wanted to do all your life but never find time”. Whatever the choice you should go for the important thing is what your heart tells you and in my opinion listen to your heart and you will never regret.

    • katehobbs says:

      Thanks Aasim. I wanted to always be in Canada and now I am here. So I shouldn’t be worried abou the next step cos it will only be to enhance what I do here.

  5. Fliss says:

    Henry Cloud writes a great book called Necessary Endings that has a lot to say about change – endings of some things are not failures but necessary if the new thing is to be birthed – and lots more! ✨✨✨😊

    • katehobbs says:

      Now that has got me thinking Fliss? Could our time in Penticton be an ending so something new can start here in Canada, or something new in the UK? I’m going to be real here and say “I want to see the whole picture please Lord”.
      Great to see you here Fliss and thanks for commenting.

  6. Penticton is such a beautiful place and the area around it is so full of unique beauty and life. I would try to stay there If I had a choice. I just had to give my grain of salt 🙂

  7. MindMindful says:

    Well, change – esp. moving house! – can be so stressful, for sure. You might try this: imagine yourself in the process of each scenario, & then start laughing (Just make yourself laugh, giggle, chuckle……) ……… If nothing else, you’ll destress under laughter’s beneficial properties.

    • katehobbs says:

      Laughter is such a great destressor, isn’t it? I know that we, as people, do not laugh enough. It has been a while since I laughed until my sides ached. Thanks for the contribution, MindMindful.

      • MindMindful says:

        I really believe that laughter, in any form, makes everything else more bearable.

Leave a Reply

