Processing – the “creative” label

I have a confession to make.  I do not consider myself to be creative.  For most of my life, being ‘creative’ has conjured up images of a painter and sculpture working away for hours to produce their art.  I visualise Rembrandt, Constable, Rothko, Picasso, Van Gogh, Henry Moore.  I don’t know why I narrow my interpretation of ‘creative‘ to artists but for some reason, my mind does not think laterally on this subject.

People have told me that ‘creative’ can also be composers, architects, interior designers, chefs, landscapers, film makers.  It can also include ideas people, problem solvers and visionaries.

Yet I do not see myself as fitting any of these.

I do take photographs.  For me, I see something and I take a photograph.  As a result, I have received comments from bloggers congratulating me on being “creative”.  Now this feels very uncomfortable to me.  I have not staged anything.  I have not set up lighting.  I don’t think too hard about my subject – I just take photos of what is around me and hope that one is good enough to post on my Photo Challenge blog.  So how does this make me a ‘creative’?

I think that this will be a life-long process for me.  Some things are easier to accept about myself than others.  I really don’t believe that this is false humility.  I genuinely do not see what all the fuss is about.  Maybe I’ll ‘get it’ one day, but today………….

Do you have a label that defines you?

Has anyone given you a compliment that you have found difficult to accept?

Please join in the discussion by commenting.  I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Processing – the “creative” label

  1. Okay, to answer one question you asked…the fact that you take such beautiful pictures and don’t have to do much thinking about it, is amazing and creative! You are also great problem solver with those around you that you care about!..Okay that was two.
    Three, I have a hard time being complimented on anything, because I can never see myself as good enough…if I am being real honest…messages from my past.

  2. Sonel says:

    When you see something and take a photo of it, you are already “creating” Kate. In your mind…and the camera just captures that moment of what you saw. And yes, I feel like this all the time. It’s all in the mind. We are the ones limiting ourselves. We are all creative beings and we should learn to not be so hard on ourselves. We can do everything we set our minds to. Compliments are overrated. I don’t care about compliments but I will thank the people who give it to me. Do I believe them? Most of the times not but it doesn’t matter. What matters is that if they gave an honest compliment and they really meant it, it made them feel good as well. If I needed that compliment at that stage and it made me feel good…why not? Sometimes you can “feel” if the compliment was real or not. What matters is how everything you do makes you feel and if you enjoyed it. I do what I do because I like doing it, it gives me joy, it makes me feel good about myself and if others don’t like it, toughees for them. If it makes them feel good, good for them. I also don’t stage anything when I take photo’s. My “creative” eye sees something that I need to capture and then I do it. Some people make too much about photography…just like everything else. Always competition…some always want to be better than others…show off…stuff like that…and what happens in the end? The problem is that people forget to have fun. It’s all about having fun and enjoying what you do. 🙂

    • katehobbs says:

      I appreciate what you say about seeing something and then taking a photo of it. Maybe it is in the seeing that the creativity comes. I’ve heard the phrase “creative eye” but not really thought much about it. Maybe I’m beginning to understand a little. It’s taken me nearly 50 yrs to start using it!!!! I suppose the creativity is in seeing things that others don’t see.

      I also hope that I never stop having fun taking photos.

      Thanks for the comments Sonel.

      • Sonel says:

        Indeed it is Kate. I try to make “compositions” of what I see and then I take a picture of it. It’s like painting. Oh, and don’t feel bad. I’ve always been busy doing some or the other and have been using Paint Shop Pro for years and you could say I’ve been creative with my computer and I am also new to photography and I am also near 50. LOL! As long as you’re enjoying it, all will be fine. 🙂
        *hugs*

  3. Madhu says:

    I feel that way too…like an imposter who isn’t doing enough to deserve all that praise!

  4. katehobbs says:

    There are a lot of us out there, it would seem. If there is one result from this post it has been to bring together those people that are processing this label. We can support each other in this and understand too.
    I suppose if something is naturally easy to a person, and it doesn’t take much effort, then it is difficult to come to terms with when others have to work so hard to achieve the same level or result.
    Well, Madhu, keep creating……
    Kate

  5. fiztrainer says:

    I think the essence of a creator is exactly what you said you do. You obviously have a gift for this. My dad is an artist (painter, drawer, etc.). Unfortunately, I didn’t inherit one of those genes. For me, I say he is so creative. He looks at his creations and says, how is this creative. I just paint. It’s a gift. Creators are gifted. It comes easily because it’s inside them. You asked if we’ve ever found a compliment hard to accept. When people read my poetry, they will compliment me and that makes me uncomfortable because (again, like you) I just write what’s in my heart. Nothing special. 😀

    • katehobbs says:

      Wow. There are a lot of us out there who are ‘struggling’ with this label. I think this comments conversations is good for all of us who are processing this. We can all speak into each others lives and encourage. Thanks for your encouragement. May you continue to see in yourself the special talent you have and to enjoy it.
      Kate

  6. Inga says:

    I actually have had the same thoughts. I admire creativity and have not considered myself creative even though I photograph. I actually tend to think of other photographers as creative, but not myself. But I’m learning to think of myself as creative, and so should you 🙂

  7. Your hobby can espouse your creative side to others without you even thinking of yourself as being creative. Interestingly, one might add that you have a ‘creative eye’ for the photos you take. I encourage you to continue enjoying, evolving and celebrate your creative abilities. Even the fact that you are able to blog about it, its bringing your creative eye to writing about it.

    • katehobbs says:

      There is so much to creativity that I don’t automatically think about. Thank you for your comments. I intend to keep enjoying my abilities.
      Kate.

  8. Like you I have never considered myself creative. But I do like taking photographs and I suppose I have a certain style to my photography. I used to be a member of a well known photography site but left in disgust at the treatment many members were getting. Months later I went back as an anonymous user. First photo I submitted someone commented on the style and immediately twigged that I had returned to the fold, so to speak. That’s when I realised that I had to get out and vary what I took photographs of. That I suppose has made me more creative in the subject matter.

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Mike
      I appreciate your comments. As I become more comfortable with the “creative” label, I find I am being more experimental in my photographs. I prefer landscape/nature/flaura/fauna, but I have done some architecture, attempted some abstract (zoom bursts) and looked at photographing everyday things in a different way and I end up seeing things that I haven’t seen before, although they have always been there!
      Thanks for joining in this conversation.
      Kate

  9. Dear Kate,
    You almost make it sound as if creativity was a dirty thing 🙂
    When you create, you are creative. You created this blog. Ergo you are creative. You have a camera, you take pictures… you create. You may not be aware of what makes your picture good or bad, but before you pressed the shutter YOU decided how the picture should be framed, which element you wanted in the photo.
    We are all creative. “Creative” is not really a compliment, but rather an acknowledgement of your abilities to create.
    Have a lovely day ♥

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Anette
      I like your thoughts. ” ‘Creative is…..an acknowledgement of your abilities to create.’ ”
      I think we often seen in others things that we don’t see in ourselves. Thanks for contributing.
      Kate

  10. timkeen40 says:

    I would not sell short your ability to take great pictures. It is not something everyone can do. Thanks for sharing this blog with all of us.

    Tim

    • katehobbs says:

      Tim, thanks for commenting. I am learning to accept the talent I have, and to add to it by learning more about photography. Still, it is an everyday struggle to accept but I am getting there. I appreciate your insight.

  11. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Kate it is wonderful to realise that because we were created in the likeness of God we all have creativity but we express it differently because we are also unique, even Painters have their own style and writers, Poets etc they have their own signature or expression and so do you Kate when you write and this is being creative, adjectives, pronouns even our grammar and punctuation can be individual and our expression in writing even a letter can be very creative.

    With my being Dyslectic I’m suppose to be more creative them most because I’m mostly on the other side of my brain,I create Power Points and a-mails but I write stories, poems and jokes too and these are gifts and an anointing from the Lord, I can’t write fluently or write a poem or a story if I sit down to write but my writing and poems etc just flow when I’m lead by the Lord, I often write things I don’t even know but I do confirm them with Scripture if it’s Theology or if it is in relation to perceivable things, that can be checked but sometimes these are not confirmed till later but I know they are True at the time, but I’m still a cracked vessel I make a lot of spelling, grammar and punctuation etc mistakes but God’s the Super Glue.

    I enjoy your expression when you write Kate and I like your honesty.

    Christian Love Anne

    • katehobbs says:

      Thank you Anne. It is wonderful to see Father use us in spite of our brokenness. That’s the wonder of His love towards us.
      Every blessing
      Kate

Leave a Reply

