I have a question for you. “What charity motivates you?”

With so much demand on our spare cash from charities, what charities will motivate you to give today?

It seems that we are under constant bombardment from charitable organisations these days.  It goes without saying that, in times of financial hardship, charities suffer.  And yet there are so many genuine and worthwhile causes out there that tug at our heart-strings and pull us to consider giving something….

And it doesn’t have to be a charity campaign that gets my attention.  There are so many news stories these days that tell of a natural disaster, war zone, or famine area.  AND THOSE PICTURES.  They shout loudly to the compassionate side of me.

But I can’t give to everything, and I have limited resources.  So I have to make wise choices as to who gets my money.

What about you?  How do you feel when those newsreels start streaming from your TV?  What is your immediate reaction? 

Share now by commenting below.  I’m going to read and reply to every single comment that I receive.

Today, the charity that motivates me is Living Waters.  Found all over the world, this charity provides discipleship and relationship programmes to all churches of all denominations.  Aimed at those people who recognise that they live a broken life, and are not living a fulfilled life that is possible with God, Living Waters provides programmes and facilitates prayer and ministry to those wanting to move on in their relationship with God and with others.

But there are others out there that get my attention, who are involved with:

  • Human Trafficking
  • Debt and Injustice (local and global)
  • Feeding and supporting local homeless and families below the poverty line

So again, I ask you the question “What charity motivates you?”  I’m looking forward to reading your comments and responding.

Talk to you soon.

Kate

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in I have a question for you. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I have a question for you. “What charity motivates you?”

  1. Len Hummel says:

    Habitat for Humanity. The Red Cross. and Save the Children. along with that: this lady and her awesome testimony of faith and survival: Martin and Gracia Burnham Foundation
    http://www.graciaburnham.org/

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Len
      Thank you for joining in this conversation and for advocating your charities. I’m going to visit the Burnham website and find out what it was that motivated you. I don’t know of this charity, but I do know of the others. Have you been abroad with Habitat for Humanity and built some houses? I know that this is one thing they do, but it is not the only thing.
      Another question back to you: Do you give a regular amount each month to each charity, or do you give as and when you see a need? I’m not giving by direct debit/monthly to any charity at the moment, but am considering doing this going forward.
      Looking forward to hearing back from you.
      Regards
      Kate.

  2. 400daystil40 says:

    Very interesting question… I have many…. I find that the charities that motivate me are ones that I feel a personal connection to… either a heart pull or due to things people close to me have lived through (ie: a cancer organization because my father died of cancer)…… I mostly find myself pulled towards educational charities that empower people with education or very specific charities like A Child’s Right (www.achildsright.org) that provide practical assistance to children.

    • katehobbs says:

      Firstly, thank you for commenting.
      I know where you are going regarding responding to charities that support something close to your heart. I think most of us have been affected by cancer, either personally or a close family member, and that certainly raises my awareness of the disease, therefore I would be more inclined to respond.
      Thank you for sharing about A Child’s Right. I didn’t realise when I started this post that I would find out about charities that I hadn’t heard of. This is a wonderful way of sharing and raising awareness. I hope others take the opportunity to give their favourite charities a mention. Perhaps I’ll do a follow up post, mentioning all those charities mentioned in the comments – that will give some extra ‘publicity’.
      Thanks again for commenting, and please come back and add to this conversation.
      Kate

  3. cobbies69 says:

    Mine is to do with two things Asthma research, and as my blog regularly posts ‘Missing Kids’ Very good and thought provoking thanks…;)

    • katehobbs says:

      I am going to make an assumption here and say that the Asthma charity is because you or a family member/friend is seriously affected. Am I correct in that? I think we are more inclined to give to a charity that is ‘close to home’.
      Missing Kids – good one. That is a section of our community that is often overlooked, I would suspect. But why is that? We hear of kids going missing every day.
      Thanks for commenting here Cobbie. Come back again and add to the conversation.

      • cobbies69 says:

        Yes you are correct, my father suffered from chest problems and I am severely Asthmatic. Although under full control, it can cause a few problem. I have in past participated in Asthma projects. Now have been diagnosed diabetic which is now double trouble so I am told. I regularly do ‘Missing Kids’ posts mainly to bring attention to them. If any re-blogs or visits then it is a help. Some one might know something. Doing my little bit…;) Nice topic to get us all talking..

      • katehobbs says:

        Like Jude mentioned in her post, we don’t always have to give money to support a charity. You are supporting Missing Kids by posting about them. Support comes in all shapes and sizes.

  4. Jude says:

    Hi Kate. It may sound utterly selfish but I get sick to death of the TV ads for starving people. The same sad close-ups of children. How can a charity possibly afford a really lengthy advert on prime-time national television. How much does it cost and if I was to give money how much would go towards the advert?! I give to M.S charities, the Salvation Army, and I used to give to the RSPB. As you say you just can’t give to everything.

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Jude
      To be honest, after a while, I can get de-sensitised to seeing so many “crying baby” pictures on the TV. That then goes to me not wanting to give. It is very difficult for the charity to find the balance in ‘marketing’ themselves. I hope that the percentage of money they use for marketing is a significantly small amount compared with the whole that they give away. For national primetime TV, that costs 100,000s. Must be a very large charity to do that.
      Thanks for commenting here Jude. I am really grateful.
      Keep microlighting 🙂

      • Jude says:

        Your comment about getting de-sensitised is so true, and the following ‘not wanting to give’ feeling is just how I feel. As long as we give to others in some way (sometimes not by way of money) then I think we must be fairly good people.

      • katehobbs says:

        Yep, there are so many other ways to give; time, energy, items of clothing/households etc. It doesn’t always have to be money.
        Thank you for reminding me of that.
        Kate

  5. Robyn says:

    Almost every charity out there can pull at my heartstrings, but the ones that do everytime would be anything related to animals. I volunteer at the shelter, have done several walks for the OSPCA & have volunteered with several other organizations. Because I am just recently out of college and making very little money though, it is hard to give money. That’s part of why I volunteer my time, (plus I love volunteering whenever I can) and I give small amounts of money when I can.
    Once I start making a steady income I want to donate more towards animals, and I would also like to sponsor a child if I can. I’m just not sure what organization is best for that.

    • Robyn says:

      I volunteer at an animal shelter*

    • katehobbs says:

      Another person who recognises that supporting a charity doesn’t necessarily mean giving money – although it does help.
      You asked about sponsoring a child. There is World Vision, but there is another called Compassion International (compassion.com). They are a Christian charity, so I don’t know how you would feel about considering that one for the future. I suspect that all faiths will have a similar charity.
      I just want to thank you for joining in the conversation. It is very interesting what motivates people to give, and to what.
      Thanks again.

      • Robyn says:

        Thanks for the info. Like I mentioned, I have to wait until I am making a better income, but one day I hope to sponsor a child. I think donating money always helps as long as the money is actually going towards the cause. Volunteering is even better when you can do it, because you know you’re helping in some way.
        And no problem! I’m glad someone else thinks about charitable organizations and is able to get people talking about it!

  6. Hi Kate, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. You have a lot of relevant reads in your blogsite. You have impressed me not only in your ability to discuss different interesting topics in your blogs, but have also captivated me in your ability to capture different great images through your genius manipulation of the lens. I hope you’ll consider accepting it, and the acceptance rule:

    http://philippinehappinessandlove.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/versatile-blogger-award/

    And, to answer your question: I am always a supporter of charity foundations that work for children. When I was in the Philippines, I took a small part in Gawad Kalinga where I used my Saturday mornings spending time with our less fortunate children in the community. We taught them simple things such as brushing teeth, keeping nails clean, helping them with their school assignments, praying, and or simply celebrating their birthdays and making feeling them feel that despite life’s hurdles, they are always loved and appreciated.

    Here in the US, I have continued supporting efforts of different organizations such as Bright Space to promote programs for children and parents in homeless shelters and other agencies serving families in crisis. I always find blessing in giving. I feel that it is when I give that I also receive.

    Thanks for making me share. Be blessed!

    • katehobbs says:

      Thank you for the Versatile blogger award today. I am honoured that you consider my blog worth awarding. Thank you.
      I will look at the acceptance rule and address this at a later date. Thank you again.

      Isn’t it wonderful to see the faces of small children as they recognise that they are valued and loved by someone? I commend you and the work you do. I agree with you that there are blessings in giving to someone else. We nearly always receive something back – not always in the way we would expect either. However, we shouldn’t be giving with the intention of receiving. If we did, then the blessing of giving would be lost – in my opinion.

      Thank you for joining in this conversation. I have enjoyed all the comments and chats that have come about as a result of this blog. I will have to do another one!!
      And I will do a follow up post listing the charities that have been mentioned here. I think they are all worthy of mention.

      Hope to see you here again.
      Kate

      • You are welcome, Kate.

        I agree with you, we should not give with the intention of receving something in return. I believe that true giving is when you give it all.

      • katehobbs says:

        For many of us, we are a long way from being true givers. In a society that markets richness as having money, the last thing we want to give away is our money. I saw a notice outside a church the other day. It was an attempt at defining ‘poor’. The answer: “A person whose only wealth is money”. Interesting!

        Thanks for returning to our conversation. See you again.

  7. Karen says:

    HI Kate,
    We support two children through Compassion, we love the way that supporting a child empowers them for the future – not just theirs but their family and ultimately the long term future of the country.

    We also give to the Salvation Army at Christmas, plus Crisis housing charities, The Living Room which works with the whole family affected by addictions when we can and Unicef and Habitat for Housing when disaster strikes.Up close and personal is a big incentive so our local FEED programme is important too as is Cancer research UK.
    this makes us sound like big givers but we arent – we just give when our spirit/heart is moved.

    I also agree that the tv ads do beg the question about the money being spent but it is a hard line to walk – I personally feel theyre manipulative and for me that can make me not give BUT some q’s I’d like to ask is do they get charity ad rates and how effective is it? I wouldnt know some of these charities if i hadnt seen them on TV.

    one thing we dont do is give to boxes wiggled at us on the streets nor do we give to something new without researching considering.

    so thats my randon thoughts from the UK.
    Karen x

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Karen, great to see you here and thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Sponsoring a child is a great way of giving support beyond the borders of our own country, and I know that Compassion is a great charity to support children through. For times of international disaster I know that the large major charities come together under the umbrella of the Disasters Emergencies Committee to concentrate giving in one area. I’ve given on two occasions that way. You are not the first one to mention Habitat for Humanity and their housing scheme abroad. Are they an international organisation then? I assume they are.

      Your comment about TV ads is interesting. I agree that we might not have known about some charities if they hadn’t advertised in a place where we would see them. I don’t know about charity rates. I do know that the smaller the audience on the TV channel the less the cost, and also cost depends on the time it is seen (i.e peak or night).

      Street collections is not something that is done here in Canada, so I don’t have to worry about that one now, but I did give to the Lifeboat and to the RAF benevolent charities that way. Otherwise I don’t give on the street at all. One thing I don’t like it being ‘accosted’ by young people who attempt to get you to sign up to a monthly payment. I understand that the charity doesn’t get any of the money for the first year or so because it goes to paying off the company who put the people on the street in the first place. I want to know that my money goes directly to the charity/place that I want it to go to.

      I love your comment about the need/charity/response being up close and personal. I think that we can get too enamoured by the big charities and it is often the local, small ones that need just as much help. Getting local people to respond to a local need is so much better because it feels and becomes real. And you can see results, whereas giving to a large charity can be very impersonal. And do I see results? No, I don’t.

      Thanks for your comments Karen
      Please feel free to add to the conversation as you see fit.

Leave a Reply

