Charities – results from my question last week

Last week, I asked the question “What charities motivate you to give?” and the answers were various.  I never intended it to be a formal questionnaire so it was interesting to read what you all had to say.  Here is my very non-academic analysis of what your responses.  So, in no particular order…..

  1. People give to a charity that supports and serves a cause that has become very personal to them e.g. cancer or asthma, because they have been personally affected by these illnesses.
  2. There seem to be popular charities, those that support children or animals.  We had several commentators talk about their support of children’s charities, and they were at completely different ends of the spectrum, so to speak: to do with education and then those that are missing.
  3. Many gave to national, international and very local charities.
  4. Not all gave on a regular basis, but as they felt drawn.
  5. And then there was the issue of TV advertising; was it a waste of money?  Does it actually work on people? Well, I will let you be the judge of that considering that many of you mentioned charities that do TV advertising!

I found a more comprehensive survey that seemed to support your answers, or did your answers support the survey’s findings?!!  Check it out in the related articles below.

I have thoroughly enjoyed asking the question and receiving your answers.  It has been great to read your passions, and how this prompts you in so many ways.

Many charities were mentioned so I thought it would be helpful to list them all here so that you can take time to review them at your leisure.  Everyone is worthy of support.  If the charity is known globally and has national web pages, I have indicated this alongside, so if there is no link, just Google the charity name to find your national page.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to respond to my question.  Watch out for another question soon.

Kate

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in I have a question for you. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Charities – results from my question last week

  1. Jude says:

    An interesting subject kate, and just as interesting to hear the responses. 🙂

Leave a Reply

