Silent Words

Some speak words yet have no voice

Some have a voice though say nothing worth while

Some are silenced by injustice, shame or pain

Some in their silence speak volumes.

There are too many people today who have no voice.  My immediate thoughts go to those who are hungry; who are victims of drought or floods; who are struggling to survive on less than £1 a day.  Sadly, I can think of these people and not feel too uncomfortable about them.  They are a long way off and there is little that I can actually do to help them.

However, there are many closer to home.  The small child who is told not to cry, or to make any suggestion as he is “only a child”.  The young girl who, abused repeatedly, is warned that if she speaks out then she would “get what was coming to her”.  The teenage boy who is bullied at school and fears for his life if he tells all.

Remember, children grow.  Many of the adults that you and I live and work alongside have “no voice” because of what happened to them as they grew up.  You may even be one of those who have no voice.

Is there an answer? Yes.  The answer is you.  The answer is me.

If we open ourselves up to our friends appropriately, and when the opportunity presents itself (and this may need further explanation at a later time), about our failures, our hurts, our fears, our lives with honesty, integrity and a genuine vulnerability then those adults around us will slowly find their voice.  To know that they are not alone; to hear a similar story to theirs; to be given the opportunity to speak and to BE HEARD will slowly bring back their voice.

I have to check my words every day.  I have been guilty of shutting people down and probably compounding an already painful silence.  I need to listen – genuinely listen;  I need to care.  Surely I can do that?

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” (Edmund Burke)

Where do you stand on this? Your insight is important.  Use the comments box below to give voice to your thoughts.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Silent Words

  1. Inga says:

    This is so important, Kate. You have a way of p putting words to difficult topics. I agree with you that the answer is me and you. To be open, but also careful of our words. It’s also important to keep our eyes and hearts open and be aware if we sense that there’s something wrong.

    • katehobbs says:

      Hi Inga
      Yep, our words can be a source of great harm or of great healing. I pray that my words are of healing. Yet I still have to be careful. Being sensitive is also important and to know how to broach something on just an ‘impression’. Thanks for commenting here.
      Kate

  2. cobbies69 says:

    I have always been the strong silent type. Never been one to chit chat, and do not like phones. But do enjoy talking to the right people, that is people I am comfortable with. Less is more so I am told….I prefer to write. 🙂

    • katehobbs says:

      Thanks Cobbie. We all have different ways of communicating. As long as we do communicate and don’t go off into our shell and never come back out again. Then we can get into trouble.
      I know a lot of people like you who don’t like phones. I have no problem with them so find it difficult to understand. I can call anybody at any time whether I know them or not.
      wish you may joyful conversations with people you know, and many virtual conversations with those you don’t.
      Kate

  3. being heard and validated are huge! thank you for this! you are truly a compassionate person

Leave a Reply

