Holding onto memories

As you know, I like to take photographs!  It is a very new hobby for me but one that is bringing me great delight as others enjoy the results.

One thing that I have recognised is that photographs help capture a moment, an event, a memory; and people want to hold onto memories.

So, I have a question for you (well three actually).

What is the most important thing about a photograph to you?  

When you view a great photograph (give an example), what is it that captures your attention?  

How does it affect you?

I’m already anticipating the responses.

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in I have a question for you., Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holding onto memories

  1. Joy says:

    Something that’s important to me about a photograph, is the quality, and the closeness of certain things like a flower (macrophotography). A great photograph is the one at the top of your page 🙂 and it captures my attention because of the beauty of it. I’m not sure exactly how it can effect me, maybe that I’m just caught up in the awe and beauty of it.

    • katehobbs says:

      thank you Joy. It is wonderful to look closely and purposefully at the beauty of nature. We see things that our eyes would have quickly overlooked when we do so. I love taking macro photos because it allows me to do just that – look closely at the intricacies that have been created in that flower, or leaf, or creature. Its those “wow” moments that are so special. Then I turn to the one who created it and praise Him.
      Thank you for commenting Joy. I appreciate you being here.

  2. Susan W says:

    In a photo I love simplicity and a clean subject. I love to show those who are looking at my photos exactly what I want them to see. When I look at a photo I want to be moved by it and have a powerful message. If it’s a fun photo like in a blog, I like to see actual emotion in the person.

    Very insightful posts on here!

    • katehobbs says:

      Thank you, Susan, for your comments. I think the answers to this question are very subjective and that’s OK. There is room in this world for every style of photography. There are enough people out there who will like what you, or I, capture in the viewfinder.
      Thanks too for your encouraging comment.
      Kate

Leave a Reply

