Processing – What does age have to do with it?

you-are-never-too-old-to-set-another-goal-or-to-dream-a-new-dream-cs-lewis

There have been several occasions in my life where I felt that I was too old, or not old enough!!  Yet this week, I began to realise that I am not ineligible because of my age.  At last!!!

Let me explain.

My husband and I joined a faith community back in 1993 that was relatively young – well very young compared with established faith communities like the Roman Catholic Church or the Church of England.  As this community was young in age, it attracted young people, and those older ones who still thought themselves as young.

As this faith community grew, it needed new leaders to take on the challenge of establishing centres in new areas of the country.  Every time Steve and I attended national meetings, there would be a request for people to step forward for consideration to lead one of these new off-shoots.  Nearly every time that the request was made, they asked for people who were late teens and up to about 25 yrs of age.

Great you might say.  However, I was 30, and I felt old, ineligible and unwanted.  I would withdraw, disconnect, express disappointment.  Discrimination because of age is destructive.  Discrimination, whatever the kind, is destructive.

That was 20 years ago.  Today, as I write, I know that those incidents are now being redeemed.  Steve and I are interning with a charity where age is no barrier.  This charity reaches out to all ages and because of this they need workers of all ages.

I am wanted because of my experience, my past, my processing of painful times in my life, my acceptance that I am messed up but working on it.  I am no longer ineligible because of my age.  I am NOT TOO OLD.

When have you been reminded that you are too old?

How did you react then?  How does it make you feel now?

Any funny stories?

About katehobbs

Mother to two who are now independant and living away from home. Wife to Steve, for the last 26yrs and looking forward to many more years. I have enjoyed 18 months in the Okanagan, something that I have longed to have the opportunity to do for a while. Living a dream, you could say. Now, I am interning with Living Waters Canada based in Vancouver until end of April 2013. I love to grow my own food - it tastes so much better. I also build up, train and encourage others to achieve more than they thought possible.
This entry was posted in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Processing – What does age have to do with it?

  1. Hubby reminds me daily that I’m old and even got me a birthday card that suggested it was time for a walker, this is becasue I’m 2.5 years older than he. That also make me wiser! 😉

  2. timkeen40 says:

    I think you only old the day you stop setting goals for yourself, when you sit down and accept that you are all you are ever going to be.

    Still, when I realize that my son just turned twenty-seven and now have clear, distinct memories of forty years ago, I do have to wonder.

    But not for too long.

    Tim

    • katehobbs says:

      I agree with your sentiment that you are old when you stop setting goals. It is an attitude of mind.
      Yet we are continually reminded that we are getting older, by our adult children, who want to look after you.
      I also have felt old recently when a young person stood up on a crowded bus to offer their seat to me. I didn’t like it at the time, but I am now accepting the seat because I don’t know when I will get offered another one!!!

      I hope my attitude to age remains young. Like you, I don’t want to dwell on this age thing for too long.
      thanks for commenting Tim. Appreciate it.

  3. When I was young and more hip–well, I had hippie glasses and long frizzy hair–I had a music ministry. As babies came, I still had ministry ops in church. But the older I have gotten, the more the contemporary churches seem to gravitate toward young worship leaders, yet I still have the chops. I relate to what you have described. It has been humbling task of surrender to do what God sets before me and not just what I do well and where I think my ministry is. That’s hard becasue my idols and my self-esteem are all wrapped up in the same package. What I remind myself is that a CD of greatest hits is not the commodity of heaven, even if they are faith hits. 🙂 I must do what he calls me to do, even when the calling changes.

  4. dogbronte says:

    Just want to offer blessings on you and your ministry. I know you will enjoy Vancouver.

    • katehobbs says:

      Thank you so much. I have been in Vancouver for 6 months now. Its been a great internship so far. A few more months to go before heading back to Penticton to start Living Waters there.

Leave a Reply

